Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a 5th wheel
    Posts
    323

    Default Could MS be forced...

    Just a thought or two here.

    I have two laptops at home - one 6 year-old Acer with XP - goes just fine.
    Got a year-old HP with Vista Home Premium - 3gig ram, fast HD, discrete graphics, dual core CPU...not a celeron. What I'm getting at is the 'new' laptop is extremely well spec'd.
    But it runs like a dog and always has. My kids always go to the XP laptop first - they know it's much older, but they know it's much faster too.

    I'd like to upgrade to Windows 7 as I've been testing it on an ancient tosh M3 with 512mb ram, 4200rpm HD, onboard graphics..it has a performance indicator of 1.0 and yet it goes faster than my high spec Vista laptop at home.

    The upgrade price is what puts me off - $249? I have to pay to make my fast machine actually usable?

    My point here is - could I take MS to the Small Claims Tribunal and state that Vista is not what they said, I feel like the product has not lived up to its claims (or whatever the terminology is), and I should at the every least be entitled to a free upgrade to 7?

    Your thoughts on this would be interesting. Shoot me down in flames if you feel justified.

  2. #2
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,338

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    It's all a nice idea, but not worth it. Besides, it's not Vista that cripples notebooks, it's all the bloat that manufacturers put on there. I would back up data, do a fresh install or at least a system recovery, remove any bundled AV software and other bloat, get SP1 and SP2 on there and then install good AV software and your software. See how things go after doing that.

    Do you have SP2 on there now? What AV software are you running?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #3
    Lost Cause
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,300

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    HP have probalby loaded the machine with heaps of useless crap. If you can getting your hands on a plain Vista CD, format the thing and only install the required drivers, nothing else from HP.

    If not post a HJT log here so we can see what's running, make sure you've got the service packs, with those spec's you should be fine.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    I doubt it, or it would have happened (already), to everyone else around the world as well. Yup get rid of trial programs, Symantec programs, any demos. Theyre bloated and not worth having. Theyre just a waste of space. Thats the good thing about a clean install. You dont get all the crap
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-10-2009 at 12:04 PM.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a 5th wheel
    Posts
    323

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    Re bloatware - the first thing I do is remove it all. Also disable firewire card, bluetooth etc etc etc. I am well versed in clearing out all the extra crud an dmaking sure nothing extra is running in the sys tray or in the background as a service.
    It is just slow. We have two remaning Vista desktops here at work - I am slowly pushing to get these taken back to Xp as they are just so slow. We have identical machines that run on XP and are fine.
    Not worried about posting a HJT log - I know what's in it, and it's extremely clean.

  6. #6
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,323

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    Have you tried dialing all the Vista eye-candy right back?
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a 5th wheel
    Posts
    323

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    Yup sure have!
    I realise that "doubt it, or it would have happened (already), to everyone else around the world as well" but I also know that here in NZ we have a pretty good CGA...and do you remember all the hype before/when Vista came out?? Can you genuinely and honestly agree that it is what they said it would be?

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    Well no. But it works fine here. It may work fine for some and not for others.

    Why, I dont know. No I dont remember the hype when vista came out, because I wasnt using it. So, didnt bother about it. Because I didnt know how good or bad, or how fast or slow it was. I'm using it on a socket 754 system, I was surprised it was just as fast as XP. I havent had any probs with it, since I installed it
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 21-10-2009 at 12:40 PM.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,421

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    I'm surprised your Vista is running badly on that hardware as well. It runs fine on my desktop with AMD 3800+ and 2GB RAM. Although, I do admit that my 3800 is cranked up to 2.4GHz.

  10. #10
    The Flying Beagle snoopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    tracert localhost
    Posts
    372

    Default Re: Could MS be forced...

    Try this program, says it removes all the bloatware

    http://pcdecrapifier.com/

Similar Threads

  1. Vista upgrade : Forced clean install
    By sroby in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-05-2008, 04:15 PM
  2. New Zealand ISPs forced to police internet piracy
    By Codex in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23-04-2008, 12:16 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-06-2007, 02:09 PM
  4. Telecom forced to refund broadband customers
    By Trev in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22-02-2007, 12:50 PM
  5. News: Sony forced to clip PSX's wings
    By Mike in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2003, 12:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •