Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Mic input no go

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    376

    Default Mic input no go

    Hi all, I have an older PC with xp home 1.2 gb 256 ram trying to get skype working. I have got the web cam going both ways just no sound from my end.Have been into control panel record sound level not changing. iam guessing a mb fault and do i need to buy a sound card to get this working.

    Cheers Wayne

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,756

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Try this -- In the Icon Tray by the clock, double click the black speaker, then go to Options ( top left) / Properties, scroll down, make sure Microphone is ticked - Click OK - Now the Microphone will show in the list, make sure the MUTE is UNTICKED, also slide up the sound level.

    If you need more boost, go back to Options,and below that will be the advanced, click that - Now under the Mic will be an advanced button, open it, Tick Mic Boost.

    PS: make sure the Mic is in the ( normally) pink socket.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Does the cam have a mic in it? If it does, change the mic to the webcam's mic

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Hi Speedy sorry no mic in cam but it might be less hassle to change to a web cam with a mic.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Has it got a switch / on / off button? Is it in the pink socket?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    No switch and yes its in the pink socket. do they ever go faulty at a mb level? and no the socket is not damaged, supect its never been used.
    Thanks
    Wayne

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,856

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Does the sound work then if the mic doesnt?? Are the audio drivers installed?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Sound works great can hear the person at the other end loud and clear

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    28,756

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Did you check the muted setting I posted in #2 -very common problem.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: Mic input no go

    Yes

Similar Threads

  1. Input Lag
    By LarsJohann in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18-07-2009, 10:41 AM
  2. Motherboard CD Input
    By Twelvevolts in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 07:43 PM
  3. AVI Input - RCA?
    By CaptinMoor in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-06-2006, 05:20 PM
  4. RCA double input?
    By Buff_K in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 18-05-2006, 11:32 AM
  5. input error
    By Mirddes in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 27-01-2006, 05:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •