Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Blocked Internet

    What, other than a firewall could block the net?

    PC has no firewall other than the XP one. AVG (uninstalled it). Spybot (without Teatimer) and Malware Bytes.

    Can ping ok, but neither IE nor FF will show a web page.
    Works fine in safe mode.

    It's been scanned and de-spywared.

    No odd processes running, HJT doesn't show anything suspicious.

    Also weird is OE opened 8 times on one double click.
    wipe your paws.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,703

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Is OE working or can you not get any traffic.

  3. #3
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    When you go in to safe mode, is it the same user account as having the problem in normal mode?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  4. #4
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Safe mode works fine with the sole user on it.
    OE doesn't work either.

    I'm beginning to suspect the router - they have a Farmside modem attached to a 4 port router. One PC works - off the one cable. Haven't got her to try swapping ports yet. Tricky as she is miles away. I did all this over the phone last night, getting her to do stuff and read things to me.
    She's bringing it up today.
    wipe your paws.

  5. #5
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    The ping test that was done, I presume was pinging a domain rather than an IP, to confirm name resolution is working?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Could be the router, malware can hit one. Reset it / configure it

  7. #7
    Gone Erayd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    5,761

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Bad proxy settings? I've seen that on numerous occasions, and that would produce the symptoms you describe.
    If you are interested in reading fanfiction on a mobile device or ebook reader, please visit flagfic.com.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Blam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7,382

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Quote Originally Posted by Erayd View Post
    Bad proxy settings? I've seen that on numerous occasions, and that would produce the symptoms you describe.
    Thats likely, happens so often at school its NOT funny

    pctek-Tried Winsockfix?


  9. #9
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    24,212

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    I'd had her run Winsock last night - I leave copies of all that stuff on their PCs (I"d fixed this before).

    Anyway, took me 5 minutes. NORTONS!!!
    Surprise, surprise. It had been uninstalled on all 3, but two lost the net (leftovers doing their thing). I thought it sounded firewallish to me. hah.

    Nortons Removal worked OK on one, not on the other, a manual regedit fixed it.
    Amazing the amount of rubbish it leaves behind.

    Evil program.
    wipe your paws.

  10. #10
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,796

    Default Re: Blocked Internet

    Quote Originally Posted by pctek View Post
    I'd had her run Winsock last night - I leave copies of all that stuff on their PCs (I"d fixed this before).

    Anyway, took me 5 minutes. NORTONS!!!
    Surprise, surprise. It had been uninstalled on all 3, but two lost the net (leftovers doing their thing). I thought it sounded firewallish to me. hah.

    Nortons Removal worked OK on one, not on the other, a manual regedit fixed it.
    Amazing the amount of rubbish it leaves behind.

    Evil program.
    Yea, it's so evil I had a customer who brought their laptop in with a brand new copy of Norton 360 they bought.
    They had tried to install it but couldn't.
    I tried to install it but couldn't.
    Following instructions on Symantec's website was like trying to read a book written in a different language. I couldn't understand most of it so don't know how they expect a typical home user to follow it!
    Nothing on Symantec's website helped get the software installed so they bought NOD32

Similar Threads

  1. Blocked by Telecom
    By Fern68 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-06-2008, 12:34 PM
  2. My MSN has been blocked/hacked
    By sniperbabe in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-05-2008, 08:22 PM
  3. Pop-up window blocked
    By taly in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-09-2006, 05:41 AM
  4. Blocked access
    By pine-o-cleen in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 11:23 PM
  5. blocked webpage
    By mara240 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-10-2002, 01:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •