Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Jerry Attrick
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    106

    Default Firefox toolbars problems

    When I started using Firefox years ago it was browser heaven compared with IE but it now seems picky to run. All that was intuitive is no longer and much now seems dependent on the version one uses: Iím now on 3.0.11 where I found I could rid myself of the Bookmarks Toolbar somehow (I didnít document it!!), but now I want it back I can find no way of doing it. Can anyone help please?

    My second problem is ridding myself of the AVG toolbar thatís installed itself uninvited, which also uses screen real estate.

  2. #2
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    In a field in Hanmer
    Posts
    14,736

    Default Re: Firefox toolbars problems

    You might be able to uninstall the AVG toolbar using ccleaner or if it's really stubborn Revo uninstaller

  3. #3
    VoidMaster
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,283

    Default Re: Firefox toolbars problems

    view/toolbar/untick the toolbar you don't want to see.
    It's not the least charm of a theory that it is refutable. The hundred-times-refuted theory of "free will" owes its persistence to this charm alone; some one is always appearing who feels himself strong enough to refute it - Friedrich Nietzsche

  4. #4
    mikebartnz
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wairarapa
    Posts
    5,554

    Default Re: Firefox toolbars problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Mike S View Post
    When I started using Firefox years ago it was browser heaven compared with IE but it now seems picky to run. All that was intuitive is no longer and much now seems dependent on the version one uses: I’m now on 3.0.11 where I found I could rid myself of the Bookmarks Toolbar somehow (I didn’t document it!!), but now I want it back I can find no way of doing it. Can anyone help please?

    My second problem is ridding myself of the AVG toolbar that’s installed itself uninvited, which also uses screen real estate.
    Stop blaming Firefox for changes you made and then promptly forgot how it was done. To cure your toolbar problem is done the way it has always been done. Right click on an empty toolbar area and the choose which you want or use View/Toolbars

  5. #5
    Jerry Attrick
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    BOP
    Posts
    106

    Default Re: Firefox toolbars problems

    Harsh but partly justified, Makbartnz. My initial change was partly a slip of the hand. Thanks for the assistance; it is appreciated, and I'm back where I want to be.

    Mike S

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox and IE Problems
    By Jared White5 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-05-2009, 07:41 AM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16-10-2008, 02:25 PM
  3. Firefox Toolbars
    By imarubberducky in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-03-2006, 12:15 AM
  4. Firefox Problems
    By splatman41 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23-11-2005, 10:45 PM
  5. More problems with XP and Firefox
    By mork in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-10-2005, 12:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •