Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,903

    Default Unable to get machine to work on network

    Ok

    Before my recent connection probs, I was part way through a manual uninstall of an AV, did a reboot and when the machine came up I could no longer access the net, or even ping the router
    did an ipconfig found that the IP address of the affected computer started with 169 rather than 192, so i checked all the connections and rebooted but still the same prob.

    So I manually entered all the settings in the network connections properties box (previously they were all set to obtain whatever automatically), after this i could ping the router but don't seem to get a lot further.

    After that i searched on the web (using my computer which has no issues) and basically everything told me to do what i had already done

    I have tried flushing my dns cache etc etc

    but I just don't seem to be able to get anywhere

    I also wrote a big long post describing the problem in detail and pressed submit new thread and then my Internet connection dropped dead for the next 9 days, i was kinda hoping that the message had actually been posted, but obviously not

    any help would be greatly appreciated
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  2. #2
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Oamaru
    Posts
    5,786

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    You haven't just installed SP3 have you?

  3. #3
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,903

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    nope and i don't have any wish to do so, this machine hasn't been updated in ages and has run perfectly fine for the purposes for which it is used
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  4. #4
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    You say you can ping the router. Assuming that's still the case, can you ping external IP addresses, such as 74.125.127.99?

    If so, it's a DNS issue. If not, it's a routing issue.
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  5. #5
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,903

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    Well thats odd
    it does allow me to ping the address you gave. (didn't work when the prob happened last week)

    the DNS servers i am using on that machine are the primary orcon one and one of the open DNS ones, (I decided a scattergun approach would cover all bases), I added them about an hour ago replacing the ones that were there

    Still doesn't explain why it won't try and obtain an IP etc from the router when it is set to do so though

    and still can't access the web apart from pinging
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  6. #6
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    Do you have any sort of security or VPN software installed on the machine at all?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  7. #7
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,903

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    nope, not even windows firewall
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

  8. #8
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,677

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    Can you access the web interface of the router from that PC?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    Change the primary DNS to the router's and the alternate to Orcons primary DNS server ip addy. The browser isnt using a proxy is it?

  10. #10
    morgenmuffel
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Putaruru
    Posts
    2,903

    Default Re: Unable to get machine to work on network

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    Change the primary DNS to the router's and the alternate to Orcons primary DNS server ip addy. The browser isnt using a proxy is it?
    how would i check if it's using a proxy, (i don't think it is)

    so the primary DNS would be 192.168.1.1 (the routers address)

    I can still numerical addresses (74.125.127.99) but i can't ping address like google.com
    Morgenmuffel - This word needs to be a part of the english language, in fact you should use it in everyday conversation

Similar Threads

  1. Ubuntu unable to see network.
    By Colpol in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-04-2008, 02:52 PM
  2. Multiple Network Cards On One Machine
    By chiefnz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-06-2003, 02:01 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-04-2002, 05:56 PM
  4. unable to use the network
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2002, 02:20 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2001, 05:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •