Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Error Number 0x80040707

    When attempting to update a graphics driver, was presented with this error.
    Also "unable to load ATICIM.dll"
    Googling the problem sugested a regestry error.
    One solution was to download & run regcure.
    Tryed that but it wouldn't do the repairs without registering the program.
    This system doesent have access to the internet.

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    26,843

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    REGCURE -- god no -- That does more damage to PC's than almost any other reg software. DONT USE IT - remove it as it also has been known to infect your PC with malware.

    Edited: since the PC doesn't have Internet access the following can be put onto a USB drive after downloading from another PC to run on the problem one.

    Download Driver Sweeper run it, select your ATI graphic Drivers and remove them - then after a reboot, dont let windows auto install anything, but reinstall the fresh drivers from ATI.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 16-06-2009 at 12:36 PM.
    Update / Upgrades = Replace old bugs with new ones.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Thanks wainui I'l give that a shot.
    Any idea what may have caused the problem?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Uninstall the ATI drivers. Then install the latest version. They've just been updated anyway. For some (not all ATI cards)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    I installed drive sweeper.
    Followed the instructions.
    Uninstalled the drivers, rebooted to safe mode, opened drive sweeper, selected ATI driver, clean.
    Rebooted, stoped the auto driver instalation.
    Ran the installation for the latest driver (HD4800 series)
    Same error came up.
    I rebooted & let the system install the driver from the original CD.
    No problem there, but it is only a basic 4800 series driver.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Try what it says here

  7. #7
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Thanks Speedy.
    The first method didn't work & the second is major regestry surgery.
    I guess I'll have to wade my way through it but what the *&#@! has caused all this?
    These are XP drivers that I'm fighting with, I also downloaded the latest Vista drivers & installed them into another system, no problems at all.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Thanks Speedy.
    The first method didn't work & the second is major regestry surgery.
    I guess I'll have to wade my way through it but what has caused all this?
    These are XP drivers that I'm fighting with, I also downloaded the latest Vista drivers & installed them into another system, no problems at all.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,851

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Uninstall the ATI drivers again, find drivercleaner 1.5 on the net (it may not be on the main site). Install it boot into safe mode, run it. Select CCC, uninstall utility, and Install Manager. The drivers (9.6) worked fine (well the Vista ones worked ok), they just came out.

    I installed them earlier this morning. No prob at all. V 3.0 of drivercleaner is out, but not too sure if you have to buy it first, before you can use it

  10. #10
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Central Otago
    Posts
    2,850

    Default Re: Error Number 0x80040707

    Been there & done that.

    I think I'll leave it be. It's ok on the old drivers, still getting decent frame rates on FSX.

    Maybe there's a fault with the 9.6 XP drivers. Well they don't like my system anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-09-2006, 05:34 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-05-2005, 09:17 PM
  3. where do I get a FAQ number??
    By robsonde in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29-03-2003, 10:24 PM
  4. error number
    By windy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2002, 08:52 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2002, 12:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •