PDA

View Full Version : Xnet to Telecom?



supergran
22-05-2009, 12:53 PM
All the people that have been having trouble with Xnet for awhile, some of you said you were going back to Telecom

Did anyone go to Telecom, and what is their speed and consistancy like compared to the service you were getting from Xnet.

Seriously thinking of changing.

kountryken
22-05-2009, 01:28 PM
I have been with xnet for a couple of years now and have had great service from them and am looking seriously at going onto their Fusion package. TELECOM definately NOT. NO WAY

Speedy Gonzales
22-05-2009, 01:36 PM
I would change to something else, but nah, since I'm not working, I cant afford to pay anything up front, if I have to. The only time Xnet is slow, is when I download files. And thats not that often.

So unless I win lotto, or something, I'll probably stay with Xnet for the time being. And I'm happy with what I pay now, and that I've capped myself (even tho I've never used 15 GB in a mth)

wratterus
22-05-2009, 01:57 PM
Don't go to telecom...TelstraClear or Orcon.

supergran
22-05-2009, 02:00 PM
Ok, so if you aren't getting mini outages, or real slow downloads, does that mean I have to look at my modem? 659 download 46 upload today, just before 2pm. Don't know how to link to a photo. On River Plan

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v112/supergran82/xnet2pmt.jpg

sarel
22-05-2009, 02:16 PM
Nothing wrong with telecom

sarel

Nictech
22-05-2009, 02:23 PM
go with orcon IMO. I have had no trouble with them at all but when I was with telecom i had alot of troubles.

Speedy Gonzales
22-05-2009, 02:24 PM
Well I think Xnet had a prob / outage or something about 11 last night till 1/2 past 7 this morning. Nothing worked, until I pulled the plug out of the modem, for about a min, then plugged it back in. Dont know why someone would have to do this, but thats the only way I can get back online sometimes (and what Xnet said you should do).

I think Xnet lags, and it takes a few mins to re-sync (why I dont know), once they have an outage, or people get cut off. Which is why I usually pull the plug to fix it. I dont think its a modem prob, its Xnet's servers. They probably cant handle so many people on it / them all at the same time. The more people on it, the slower it gets

minster
22-05-2009, 02:33 PM
I've been with Telecom for about 7 years and can't say that they have been bad.
Apart from a couple of small hiccups their service has always worked for me.
I am on the Explorer plan and am happy with 10GB cap.
Perhaps different regions get different service?

DeSade
22-05-2009, 02:35 PM
I am also happy enough with telecom that I doubled my data to 40gb.

inphinity
22-05-2009, 02:35 PM
Been pretty happy overall with our Xtra connection, have had better experience with it than with other ISPs.

Nictech
22-05-2009, 02:58 PM
Sorry I lie, I didn't have too many problems with them. It was their pricing/plans that made me change to orcon.

ronyville
22-05-2009, 03:00 PM
Been with slinghsot for ages now, can say m happy with them at the moment especially with the off peak free data and the current speed that i am getting...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/473274727.png :punk

linw
22-05-2009, 04:48 PM
I switched from Xnet to Telecom about 9 mths ago and am very pleased with the service and reliable speed.

Blam
22-05-2009, 05:09 PM
Telecom isn't too bad actually, other than the service.

Orcon is supposed *best* though

supergran
22-05-2009, 05:24 PM
Thanks very much for all the posts. I didn't want to change if things were going to be worse, as I am stuck in a contract with Telecom, where I am not with Xnet, as have been a customer for about 3 years.