PDA

View Full Version : Setup unable to complete...



bk T
10-05-2009, 10:45 AM
Motherboard: GA-VM800PMC

Reinstalled XP. Downloaded chipset, audio & vga drivers from Gigabyte site, chipset and audio drivers installed OK. But, could not install VGA drivers with the following error message:

"Setup unable to complete. Check the program log in your Windows directory for more details."

"Another instance of this setup is already running.
Please wait for the other instance to finish and then try again."

There isn't any other instance of this setup running:confused:. Restart Windows and tried a couple of times, produced same results.

Any suggestions?

Blam
10-05-2009, 11:04 AM
Tried Installing in Safe Mode?

Blam

bk T
10-05-2009, 11:07 AM
Tried Installing in Safe Mode?

Blam

Have tried that but it says I can't install it in Safe Mode.

Bantu
10-05-2009, 11:12 AM
is the file you downloaded corrupted or the wrong driver file?

Blam
10-05-2009, 11:12 AM
Have a look in the event log(run>eventvwr) and see if there's something new there.

Blam

wainuitech
10-05-2009, 11:17 AM
Is there any thing showing if the task manager - Ctrl + Alt + Del - look under processes and see if its there - if it is, end task it.

bk T
10-05-2009, 11:27 AM
Is there any thing showing if the task manager - Ctrl + Alt + Del - look under processes and see if its there - if it is, end task it.

Nothing looks familiar.


Have a look in the event log(run>eventvwr) and see if there's something new there.

Blam

Don't see anything new.


is the file you downloaded corrupted or the wrong driver file?
Re-downloaded. Double-checked , correct MB model.

wainuitech
10-05-2009, 11:31 AM
Ok - try this - go into Device manager - right click My Computer/properties/Hardware tab/ Device manager - expand out the Display adapter - right click - uninstall, reboot PC, let it pick up the default drivers automatically - retry the Correct drivers from gigabyte

bk T
10-05-2009, 11:44 AM
Ok - try this - go into Device manager - right click My Computer/properties/Hardware tab/ Device manager - expand out the Display adapter - right click - uninstall, reboot PC, let it pick up the default drivers automatically - retry the Correct drivers from gigabyte

Did that but produces same result.:badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
10-05-2009, 11:49 AM
Well look in the log in the windows folder like it said. See what that says. Run ccleaner and clear the temp files etc then try again

bk T
10-05-2009, 12:07 PM
Well look in the log in the windows folder like it said. See what that says. Run ccleaner and clear the temp files etc then try again

Run Ccleaner as suggested but no luck.

anyway, here is the log file:

********** S3 GRAPHICS SETUP LOG - Started 2009/05/10 10:57:15 a.m. **********

***** Please scroll to the end of *****
***** this document for the results. *****

S3Iset32 v2.00.46-0209, (S3GSetup/IS10 2.00.46-0209)
System: Win XP SP2 Build 2600 (Service Pack 3)
Signature: 17-9964 (ANSI)
Caller cmdline: ''
SupportDir: 'C:\DOCUME~1\Fung\LOCALS~1\Temp\S3MF.tmp\'
Called by custom setup app.
AllowReboot: TRUE
Prompt: TRUE
SilentReboot: TRUE
Prompt: FALSE
RemoveWinINF: FALSE
PreInstFiles: FALSE
No UI Reboot: FALSE
MenuAnimOff: FALSE
MenuShadowOff: FALSE
Find VendorID: 5333
Driver INF at: D:\Drivers\VGA\P4M800Pro\XP\dc04i.inf
Find hardware code: 0
Custom uninstall info: C:\WINDOWS\UChromeP.uns
HW found 0 - Ven:1106 Dev:3344 Ssven:1458 Ssdev:D000 Rev:01 at bus 1 dev 0 func 0 (InVga=1)

************** Begin Win2K/XP Driver Install **************
Enum GUID {4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318} devs to match 'PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01':
Enum done.
Could not find enum device to match hardware.
Enumerating all Enum\PCI registry entries...
Device #0 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_0314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #1 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_0571&SUBSYS_50021458&REV_06"
Device #2 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_1314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #3 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_2314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #4 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3038&SUBSYS_50041458&REV_81"
Device #5 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3059&SUBSYS_A0041458&REV_60"
Device #6 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3065&SUBSYS_E0001458&REV_78"
Device #7 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3104&SUBSYS_50041458&REV_86"
Device #8 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3149&SUBSYS_B0031458&REV_80"
Device #9 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3208&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #10 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3227&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #11 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01"
Found matching hardware!
->Found Inst=PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01\4&8ca73a7&0&0008
Parse INF file...
Found Mfg line in INF: 'S3.Mfg'.
Ln 0: 'S3G700,PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3371'


#################################################
!! INF does not describe detected hardware!!
Device or vendor ID (or subsystem) mismatch!!
#################################################

StopTimer OK, but no timer action occurred.
-> Setup was unable to complete the installation.

Speedy Gonzales
10-05-2009, 12:14 PM
Hmm looks like the right file, it just doesnt have the right info in the inf file so it'll install. Thats what this error means

!! INF does not describe detected hardware!! Device or vendor ID (or subsystem) mismatch!!

Delete the VGA entry in device manager then reboot. It looks like this is a common prob with this card, according to google

bk T
10-05-2009, 12:26 PM
Hmm looks like the right file, it just doesnt have the right info in the inf file so it'll install. Thats what this error means

!! INF does not describe detected hardware!! Device or vendor ID (or subsystem) mismatch!!

Delete the VGA entry in device manager then reboot. It looks like this is a common prob with this card, according to google

Did that as suggested by Wainu above.

Probably I'll just leave it and use the Windows default drivers.

Thank you folks for your time. Cheers

wainuitech
10-05-2009, 12:42 PM
Dont give up so easy:D

Always more than one way to skin a cat as the saying goes - Try this - go back into the device manager - right click the MS Graphic driver, select update - browse to the location of the extracted files form the download - select XP folder / Update it should update the drivers.

I downloaded the graphic Drivers from gigabyte to have a look - theres several different versions in the 30MB file, vista, and XP.

bk T
10-05-2009, 12:58 PM
Dont give up so easy:D

Always more than one way to skin a cat as the saying goes - Try this - go back into the device manager - right click the MS Graphic driver, select update - browse to the location of the extracted files form the download - select XP folder / Update it should update the drivers.

I downloaded the graphic Drivers from gigabyte to have a look - theres several different versions in the 30MB file, vista, and XP.

I've done that earlier. I'm positively sure that I downloaded the correct XP driver.

P/s. There isn't any MS display driver, only 'Video Controller (VGA Compatible) with a big yellow '?' This is the item I tried to update

wainuitech
10-05-2009, 01:49 PM
I noticed that board has a AGP slot - are you using it or the onboard graphics ?

When you download the graphic Files for that board from Gigabyte, and run the installer it extracts the contents to a chosen folder, This what you will get (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Contents.PNG) - you open the XP folder, and down near the bottom is the setup exe.

Is that the one you have been running ?

feersumendjinn
10-05-2009, 02:02 PM
This mobo would appear to have a VIA chipset
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2471
not S3

********** S3 GRAPHICS SETUP LOG - Started 2009/05/10 10:57:15 a.m. **********
!! INF does not describe detected hardware!!
Device or vendor ID (or subsystem) mismatch!!
Looks like Wainuitech has the right file.

bk T
10-05-2009, 02:09 PM
I noticed that board has a AGP slot - are you using it or the onboard graphics ?

When you download the graphic Files for that board from Gigabyte, and run the installer it extracts the contents to a chosen folder, This what you will get (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Contents.PNG) - you open the XP folder, and down near the bottom is the setup exe.

Is that the one you have been running ?

Yup. That's the one. It's onboard graphic

wainuitech
10-05-2009, 02:13 PM
Possible its a dud download - I have had that happen before.

Actually had one with Gigabyte, downloaded all the drivers - all correct sizes and download times, and each and every one wouldn't install - kept asking for a networked storage location--- its on the F***in CD Geeessss :badpc:

feersumendjinn
10-05-2009, 02:20 PM
Hello, is anyone listening? :)
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_Model.aspx?ProductID=2471&ost=xp#anchor_os

bk T
10-05-2009, 02:44 PM
Hello, is anyone listening? :)
http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/Motherboard/Driver_Model.aspx?ProductID=2471&ost=xp#anchor_os


Hi! That's exactly the location where I downloaded the file.

What exactly is your message???

feersumendjinn
10-05-2009, 03:54 PM
Run Ccleaner as suggested but no luck.

anyway, here is the log file:

********** S3 GRAPHICS SETUP LOG - Started 2009/05/10 10:57:15 a.m. **********

***** Please scroll to the end of *****
***** this document for the results. *****

S3Iset32 v2.00.46-0209, (S3GSetup/IS10 2.00.46-0209)
System: Win XP SP2 Build 2600 (Service Pack 3)
Signature: 17-9964 (ANSI)
Caller cmdline: ''
SupportDir: 'C:\DOCUME~1\Fung\LOCALS~1\Temp\S3MF.tmp\'
Called by custom setup app.
AllowReboot: TRUE
Prompt: TRUE
SilentReboot: TRUE
Prompt: FALSE
RemoveWinINF: FALSE
PreInstFiles: FALSE
No UI Reboot: FALSE
MenuAnimOff: FALSE
MenuShadowOff: FALSE
Find VendorID: 5333
Driver INF at: D:\Drivers\VGA\P4M800Pro\XP\dc04i.inf
Find hardware code: 0
Custom uninstall info: C:\WINDOWS\UChromeP.uns
HW found 0 - Ven:1106 Dev:3344 Ssven:1458 Ssdev:D000 Rev:01 at bus 1 dev 0 func 0 (InVga=1)

************** Begin Win2K/XP Driver Install **************
Enum GUID {4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318} devs to match 'PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01':
Enum done.
Could not find enum device to match hardware.
Enumerating all Enum\PCI registry entries...
Device #0 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_0314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #1 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_0571&SUBSYS_50021458&REV_06"
Device #2 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_1314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #3 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_2314&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #4 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3038&SUBSYS_50041458&REV_81"
Device #5 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3059&SUBSYS_A0041458&REV_60"
Device #6 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3065&SUBSYS_E0001458&REV_78"
Device #7 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3104&SUBSYS_50041458&REV_86"
Device #8 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3149&SUBSYS_B0031458&REV_80"
Device #9 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3208&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #10 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3227&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_00"
Device #11 subkey: "VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01"
Found matching hardware!
->Found Inst=PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3344&SUBSYS_D0001458&REV_01\4&8ca73a7&0&0008
Parse INF file...
Found Mfg line in INF: 'S3.Mfg'.
Ln 0: 'S3G700,PCI\VEN_1106&DEV_3371'


#################################################
!! INF does not describe detected hardware!!
Device or vendor ID (or subsystem) mismatch!!
#################################################

StopTimer OK, but no timer action occurred.
-> Setup was unable to complete the installation.

Well, according to this (from your post #11) you're trying to install a S3 vga driver on a mobo that has a VIA chipset (like I said in my first post (#17). Perhaps thats why it doesnt work. I apologise if I'm wrong but I thought I'd point that out. ;)

bk T
10-05-2009, 04:02 PM
Well, according to this (from your post #11) you're trying to install a S3 vga driver on a mobo that has a VIA chipset (like I said in my first post (#17). Perhaps thats why it doesnt work. I apologise if I'm wrong but I thought I'd point that out. ;)

But, that's the file from Gigabyte site where you pointed. So, it's either Gigabyte has the incorrect file or .......

Speedy Gonzales
10-05-2009, 04:16 PM
Try these then (http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx?PageID=420&OSID=1&CatID=1160&SubCatID=150)

That log / those drivers cant even tell you the right SP, first it says SP2 then it says SP3. What SP is on it?

hueybot3000
10-05-2009, 05:53 PM
Well, according to this (from your post #11) you're trying to install a S3 vga driver on a mobo that has a VIA chipset (like I said in my first post (#17). Perhaps thats why it doesnt work. I apologise if I'm wrong but I thought I'd point that out. ;)

S3 drivers are listed on Via's site anyway, just find the driver to match your chipset.

did it last night, used cpu-z to get northbridge and southbridge numbers and searched them n via's site

bk T
10-05-2009, 08:46 PM
Try these then (http://www.viaarena.com/default.aspx?PageID=420&OSID=1&CatID=1160&SubCatID=150)

That log / those drivers cant even tell you the right SP, first it says SP2 then it says SP3. What SP is on it?

That's the one, Speedy, it works.

Thank you everyone.:thanks

Cheers