PDA

View Full Version : Sata Problem on XP



Sata Problems
04-05-2009, 09:03 PM
Hi,

I Have windows XP. It is installed on an 80gb Sata HDD. Works fine.
I Have a second 250gb Sata HDD which has all my media on it. This works too, i have previously used it on the same computer with the same install.

But i recently bought a new Light Scribe DVD Writer which is Sata also.
I have 4 Sata plugs on my motherboard, all 3 are plugged in and they showing up in my bios.
But only two Sata hardware things show up in windows and device manager ... i am wanting all 3 to show obviously. How do i do this? All i can find on the net is people install drivers when reinstalling XP... do i need to reinstall or can i load them on without losing everything??

*80gb HDD is in Sata 1.. DVD Writer in Sata 2.. 250gb HDD in Sata 3.. Sata 4 free.
Motherboard is an Asus P5KPL-CM.
BIOS is set for Sata Only and to boot form hard disk first.

I have searched and searched for help on the net. and found multiple answers but am not sure which to follow and how.
And found multiple drivers.. but don't know which to use and i don't want to screw it up.

Any help would be appreciated.
Ask if you need to know more.

Cheers :)

pcuser42
04-05-2009, 09:08 PM
Which drive does XP not see?

You'll most likely need drivers from the ASUS website, you won't need to reinstall.

Blam
04-05-2009, 09:09 PM
Is the DVD drive not showing up in device manager/my computer?

Blam

Sata Problems
04-05-2009, 09:12 PM
It doesn't see the 250gb HDD. I had a look there.. but couldn't find anything..

i know nothing about RAID or other setups etc, so i don't know if that is the problem.

I'm under the impression i need some sort of Sata controller driver??

Blam
04-05-2009, 09:17 PM
Maybe a a drive letter conflicted when you installed that DVD drive.

Go Run>Diskmgmt.msc>If you see it there Right Click>Assign Drive letter

Cheers
Blam

Sata Problems
04-05-2009, 09:21 PM
I just tried that.. it doesn't show up. Maybe swap DVD/HDD Sata plugs around on the Motherboard and try again?

kennie
05-05-2009, 05:36 AM
there may be an option in the BIOS to enable only SATA 1 & 2 ports?

Bantu
05-05-2009, 06:34 AM
Shut it down and check your cables. Sata cables are real bad for not quite connecting properly unless you have the cables with the locking clips on them.

Your first SATA port will be "0" not "1"

Sata Problems
05-05-2009, 07:49 PM
The hard drive shows up fine in the bios though. Its confusing me as i cant find anything that entirely relates to this problem.

hueybot3000
05-05-2009, 07:54 PM
there might be an option in bios to set sata in ide mode, someone?

i remember someone on here telling me that when i had similiar problems...

has everything got power?

jwil1
05-05-2009, 09:06 PM
Is another drive letter taking it's place?? (look in Disk Mgmt)

Sata Problems
07-05-2009, 08:42 PM
Yeah everything has power.

The 2nd hard drive doesn't show up in disk management.

So far i have established Sata ports 3 & 4 when used don't show up in windows but DO show up in bios.. and registers the HDD fine.

I have just swapped the HDD form port 3 to port 2 and its online and working fine.. The DVD writer is now in port 4 but doesn't Appear online in Windows... but is there in bios.

pcuser42
07-05-2009, 08:56 PM
Any red X's or !'s in Device Manager?

Sata Problems
07-05-2009, 09:00 PM
The only red X is for an Ethernet controller.