PDA

View Full Version : Desktop shortcut



bk T
27-03-2009, 09:06 PM
How do I create a desktop shortcut to open a webpage, e.g. this PressF1 forum in both IE and Firefox?

Blam
27-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Right Click on Desktop>New>Shortcut>Type in Address of Website>Type a name for it.

Done.:)

bk T
27-03-2009, 09:47 PM
Right Click on Desktop>New>Shortcut>Type in Address of Website>Type a name for it.

Done.:)

Thanks, blam6.

It works but the shortcut link always open up Firefox. I have both IE and Firefox installed and Firefox is my default browser.

Is there a way to specify it to open in IE or Firefox?

Speedy Gonzales
27-03-2009, 09:50 PM
Open IE and make it the default browser. Thats why it opens in FF, its the default browser

Blam
27-03-2009, 10:02 PM
Thanks, blam6.

It works but the shortcut link always open up Firefox. I have both IE and Firefox installed and Firefox is my default browser.

Is there a way to specify it to open in IE or Firefox?

Yep, you sure can, in the "New Shortcut" dialog type either one of these:

To force a url to open in IE:
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" http://yourwebsitehere

To force open a URL in Firefox:
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" http://www.yourwebsitehere


Blam

bk T
27-03-2009, 10:04 PM
Open IE and make it the default browser. Thats why it opens in FF, its the default browser

If I change IE to be my default browser, all the shortcut links will open in IE, right?

Is there a way to make it like this: say, shortcut-A is to be opened in FF and shortcut -B is to be opened in IE?

Speedy Gonzales
27-03-2009, 10:16 PM
Looks like Blam's way works.

bk T
28-03-2009, 07:55 AM
Yep, you sure can, in the "New Shortcut" dialog type either one of these:

To force a url to open in IE:
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" http://yourwebsitehere

To force open a URL in Firefox:
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" http://www.yourwebsitehere


Blam






Thanks, Blam. It works:thanks