PDA

View Full Version : Can you run multiple computers off 1 power supply?

pantera989
25-03-2009, 05:35 PM
Is there a form of splitter so I could run 5 or so low power mini itx systems (50W max draw each) from one standard ATX power supply?

Speedy Gonzales
25-03-2009, 05:37 PM
I doubt it

hueybot3000
25-03-2009, 06:14 PM
I doubt it

Why not? It wouldnt be overly difficult. The only way i could see it working though is that all the computers are running at the same time, and you would have to have a master computer that powered them up

Im no electrician but couldnt you split the connector wires into 5 and if you were using a modular psu you could use them to run various drives etc

Speedy Gonzales
25-03-2009, 06:17 PM
Try it and find out. See what happens

You would have to connect more than the power to get one going.

How would you do that?

pantera989
25-03-2009, 06:24 PM
All turning off and on at the same time is perfectly fine.
I've considered making my own PCB up or something, but finding 5 or so of the 24 pin connectors might be trouble and a suitable board to make it on ( all the ones at Dicksmiths are very thin copper and I don't think would be able to take the current), I just don't know how the turn on/off bit would work.

hueybot3000
25-03-2009, 06:32 PM
If you do go ahead with this post pics cos im pretty interested in it, try jaycar if theres one in your area, they have better quality boards and might even sell the 24pin connnectors

To turn if on you would have to use one computer which turns on and then it would have to flick a relay or something that turned on power for the other computers. Turning off safely could be difficult though

pantera989
25-03-2009, 06:49 PM
Connecting the green wire (on) to any ground will turn the power supply on, would this therefore turn all the motherboards on?

As for jaycar, im finding there website really hard to navigate, do you happen to know if they sell pre-printed PCBs similar to bread boards?

hueybot3000