PDA

View Full Version : Wrong Canon printer comes up!



stuffed
22-03-2009, 10:29 AM
Purchased a Canon iP4600 photo printer – and very pleased with it too.
Except now cannot “get to it” through the Canon Solution menu that came with it!!
You see have another printer – a Canon iP3000 and when go to print - this printer comes up.
Have tried making the new iP4600 the default printer.
In the Canon Solution menu printer setup - the new Canon iP4600 shows as the printer!
Any bright ideas?!
Thanks

Blam
22-03-2009, 11:17 AM
Can you delete the old printer in Control Panel?

Paul.Cov
22-03-2009, 11:43 AM
Some applications ignore the Windows default printer setting and will have their own pre-configured printer choices.

It may be that the application(s) you are printing from are making the choice to use your old printer, rather than Windows or the Canon application influencing the job.

Lurking
22-03-2009, 12:05 PM
Do you still use the old Canon?, if not Control Panel, Printers right click and delete it.

Lurking.

stuffed
22-03-2009, 01:06 PM
Thanks - yep still use the old printer. Looks as though there is a bug in the Canon software ap. Sure the new printer works fine when uninstall the old one!! grrrrrrrrrrrr

Lurking
22-03-2009, 01:31 PM
Well there should be a drop down arrow in the print box, for you to choose which printer to use.

This XP pc had quiet a few printers listed, have deleted all except Canon (default) and Mighty Fax.

Lurks.

stuffed
22-03-2009, 03:17 PM
Correct - and choose the new iP4600 but as said it still wanted to print on the old iP3000.
To me that is a bug?
Thanks

Blam
22-03-2009, 03:29 PM
Try unplugging both printers from PC, delete both printers, plug the IP4600 in, install the printer, then plug in IP3000 and install driver.

Blam

stuffed
22-03-2009, 04:01 PM
Thanks but had already tried that!

Speedy Gonzales
22-03-2009, 04:23 PM
Did you install the software first (while USB was unplugged)?

Then plug the USB in after?? Not install the software / drivers, while the USB was plugged in?

stuffed
22-03-2009, 04:30 PM
Unplugged both printers from USB. Deleted both in CP. Plugged in iP4600 - it installed by itself.
Did the same with the old printer.
XP Pro