PDA

View Full Version : IRQL_not_less_or_equal

mazinmat
17-03-2009, 01:27 AM
hi everybody i have an acer aspire 1360 every time i try and boot it up it gets to the windows xp loading screen (the one black one) after this point it gets to a blue screen saying IRQL_not_less_or_equal and then restarts itself, i have looked on multiple forums to try and solve it myself and people have suggested getting memphest+ or something like this but i cannot loggin so i cannot try this, iv also heard it is a RAM problem but i don't really want go out and spend money on a RAM stick as im a student and every penny counts so i was just woundering if someone could confirm this so i know its defiently the problem and not waste any money. thank you for your time.

p.s i have already tried switching the RAM stick into the other RAM slot but the same thing keeps happening. i only have one RAM stick by the way.

Speedy Gonzales
17-03-2009, 02:35 AM
You have to run memtest (http://www.memtest.org/) from cd (the ISO is on the site over there <--).

You need a program, like Nero or this (www.cdburnerxp.se) to burn it to cd. Then go into the BIOS / change the bootdisk to the CD, then boot from it

Or something bootable

It wont run in windows

Will it boot into safe mode? (press/hold F8 down) after you reboot?

If it wont boot into safe mode, Press/hold F8 down again after you reboot, and select last known good config. See if this will boot into windows

What service pack was installed on it? What was the last thing you installed, before it started crashing??

Sweep
17-03-2009, 04:20 AM
Welcome to PressF1.

What stop error code was given?

pctek
17-03-2009, 08:10 AM
Occasionally its a RAM problem.
Mostly its a driver problem. What did you install before the error happened?

Blam
17-03-2009, 12:15 PM
If it can get to safe mode with command try using system restore.
At cmd:Type in "C:\Windows\System32\rstrui.exe" and press enter

Have you installed a new peice of hardware/software lately?