PDA

View Full Version : Ram which one?



Tomo
16-03-2009, 07:41 PM
Hello there everyone

I am thinking of buying an extra 4gb or RAM for my computer
These are the options
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=5405
OR
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7489
OR
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=8643

Now first does anyone notice a performance increase when using 1066mhz instead of 800mhz Ram?
Second I already have 2gb 800mhz Power Memory, depending on which Ram type I choose, is it a waste of time putting it in as well to make 6gb of Ram or not?

Can't wait to here opinions :)

Speedy Gonzales
16-03-2009, 07:45 PM
Unless youre using 64 bit windows / whatever OS, you wont get / be able to use 4 (You'll get about 3.25 - 3.75 GB) or 6 GB.

The BIOS may see the ram, but the 32 bit version of windows wont.

Is the 32 or 64 bit version of Windows installed?

Tomo
16-03-2009, 07:58 PM
Unless youre using 64 bit windows / whatever OS, you wont get / be able to use 4 (You'll get about 3.25 - 3.75 GB) or 6 GB.

The BIOS may see the ram, but the 32 bit version of windows wont.

Is the 32 or 64 bit version of Windows installed?

Will upgrade to the 64 bit of Windows Vista once I have got the 4gb of Ram

pcuser42
16-03-2009, 07:59 PM
In terms of 800 vs 1066MHz RAM, it depends on whether you want top-of-the-line performance or cost efficiency, and also whether your motherboard supports it. If you're a gamer, get quality and fast RAM. :)

Speedy Gonzales
16-03-2009, 08:04 PM
ok, it'll be fine then. Are you sure the mobo supports 1066 ram ??

If it doesnt it wont work

Tomo
16-03-2009, 08:13 PM
My Motherboard can handle it (GA EP43 UD3L)

hueybot3000
16-03-2009, 08:14 PM
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=8643

the faster the better, as speedy says make sure your motherboard supports it, if you get the 1066 stuff then dont use your current ram with it cos itl slow the new stuff down to the current rams speed

4 gig is more than enough I think as well, I use 4gig on vista 64 no worries when gaming

Blam
16-03-2009, 08:15 PM
If are planning to overclock, you may want to get the DDR2 800, as it has higher speeds and lower latency.

But-if you get higher end DDR2 1066, you'll be able to achieve even higher clocks.

And you might want to check the FSB supported for your mobo.

For normal purposes, DDR2 800 will be fine.

Get CL4 over CL5 if you want even better performance, you get about a 20% increase in speed.

Personally-I would remove the original Power memory 2gb RAM. Not very good-and will hold your newer memory back. Sell it on trademe.
4gb of RAM is plenty, more than enough.

What CPU have you got?

Blam

Tomo
16-03-2009, 08:23 PM
I have a Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33ghz

FSB: 1600(O.C.)

Will overclock some day just not at the moment

Tomo
17-03-2009, 07:33 PM
So would you recommend 800mhz CL4 or 1066mhz CL5?

Also in the February 09 of PC World in the How To section, page 77, it mentions Microsoft offers the 64 bit "for free" if you've bought the 32 bit one: tinyurl.com/68auem

I have looked at it and I wandering if the 64 bit software media was the free 64 bit upgrade or if its stopped or somewhere else on the site?