PDA

View Full Version : Error 630 Modem on WIn98



pctek
15-03-2009, 11:31 AM
Had this.
Removed and reinstalled TCP/IP.
Removed and recreated DUN Connection.
Removed modem and replaced with new internal. - That didn't give an error it just hung every time I tried dialling out with it.
The PC is 9 years old and absolutely filthy with coal dust and smoke.

Removed it and replaced it with an external serial US Robotics.
That worked for 4 days.
Now he gets the same error.

I suspect the motherboards on the way out......what do you think?

Speedy Gonzales
15-03-2009, 11:37 AM
Tried this ? (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/227995)

Could be a knackered port

Could be a setting in the BIOS thats been configured wrong?

Or an entry in the registry maybe corrupt?

Blam
15-03-2009, 11:38 AM
Tried the stuff here?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/190554

pctek
15-03-2009, 11:39 AM
Tried this ? (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/227995)



Tried it all. It wouldn't work happily for 4 days then crap out with the same error again if it was something like that - well I wouldn't have though so.........

He's got my bullet proof USR, well it was until it went to live in the filthy coal house.......