PDA

View Full Version : identify type of ram needed



robsonde
11-03-2009, 08:15 PM
I need to upgrade the RAM in my old's computer.
it's about 7 years old, AMD duron

getting the RAM should be easy, question is what type of RAM.

in a normal case , i would open the box and have a look, problem is that my old's live out of town.

I expect to be there for a few days at Easter, the plan is to buy the RAM and take it with me.



so the question is......

how do I find out the type of RAM?
is there a small program i can get them to run that will IS the system board?

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2009, 08:17 PM
PC Wizard, Belarc, Everest

If its XP, go to All Programs / accessories / system tools / system info may say the name of the mobo - alongside system model

Blam
11-03-2009, 08:20 PM
www.crucial.com

Or, if that doesn't work, run CPU-Z then go to the SPD tab

And get them to send a screenshot

Or SIW, but its prob overkill

http://www.gtopala.com/

Blam

robsonde
11-03-2009, 08:34 PM
thanks.