PDA

View Full Version : McAfee do not get the latest Updateds



babip
11-03-2009, 10:38 AM
McAfee do not get the latest Updateds

Hi Guys,

I am using McAfee free edition which do not required any registration and free until
end of this year. It allowed me updates when I have first use this before I Re-Format my
Laptop. I am also using Wireless internet (See Wireless issue resolved here) (http://forums.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=97287) within my home.

Now After Fresh Install (Last week) I get this strange problem with McAfee that It does not
recognise the wireless internet connection in it's Manage Network screen. (Always shows as Internet Connection Not Connected)When I try to Update to the latest Virus Definition from Update Screen, It gives me same "Internet Connection Not Connected"

Fact is I am connected to Internet via wirelss and browse web.
I need your expert help to resolve this issue before my Laptop get any Infection/Maleware/Virus/ etc.

Please help

FYI !
McAfee Internet Security - 2009 FREE Edition
Linksys WG200 Wireless Router (Configured, Connected to Laptop and able to browse every day)
McAfee Firewall is used instead of Default Windows
Can't go to McAfee Website (any country)

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2009, 10:42 AM
Its as hopeless/useless as Symantec's

Install something better

babip
11-03-2009, 10:48 AM
Its as hopeless/useless as Symantec's

Install something better

What else which is FREE I can use ? If possible provide link

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2009, 10:57 AM
This (http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/download_firewall.html)

Untick the virus scanner (its still in beta, so maybe buggy), and safesurf tho

If you want a virus scanner, get Avast home, its free (http://avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html)

It is free, but you do have to register every year / 14 months (http://avast.com/eng/home-registration.php)

If Mcafee starts playing up, I would follow post #18 here (http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=98029&page=2) to remove it

Hopefully that file removes the version you've got

Sam had the same prob as you (but installed Mcafee and Comodo). Which wouldnt have helped (having 2 firewalls, they were probably conflicting with each other).

BUT Mcafee left files and probably entries, on the hard drive, wireless wouldnt work

babip
11-03-2009, 10:59 AM
This (http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/download_firewall.html)

Untick the virus scanner (its still in beta, so maybe buggy), and safesurf tho

If you want a virus scanner, get Avast home, its free (http://avast.com/eng/download-avast-home.html)

It is free, but you do have to register every year / 14 months (http://avast.com/eng/home-registration.php)

If Mcafee starts playing up, I would follow post #18 here (http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=98029&page=2) to remove it

Hopefully that file removes the version you've got

Sam had the same prob as you (but installed Mcafee and Comodo). BUT Mcafee left files and probably entries, on the hard drive, wireless wouldnt work

Thanks heaps Speedy,
I will do this tonight
Great help

:thanks

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2009, 11:01 AM
No probs :)

babip
13-03-2009, 04:08 PM
All sorted, :) THANKS
McAfee is successfully un-installed.
Using Free Avast Now

:confused:
Please help my friend here (http://forums.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=98140)for his BOOT up issue
:confused:

pctek
13-03-2009, 05:47 PM
What else which is FREE I can use ? If possible provide link

Why free? McAfee isn't........

Sweep
13-03-2009, 07:24 PM
Why free? McAfee isn't........

Why not free?

Wainuitech mentioned a problem with NOD doing an update which was resolved to their credit.

I also noticed that McAfee also had problems a couple of days ago.

Personally I use Avast and it works for me.

Have you a few copies of left over software you want to sell?

pctek
13-03-2009, 07:37 PM
Wainuitech mentioned a problem with NOD


Have you a few copies of left over software you want to sell?

Minor problem...........and no I do not have anything to sell thank you.
I install Avast for those users who prefer free, but I asked the person with McAfee - not you - why he wanted free when he had a pay one in the first place.

wainuitech
13-03-2009, 07:49 PM
The Free mcAfee may be the so called " Security Suite" that telecom give away with a connection ( thats what they use) - then sting you for $$$ after the first year. Telecoms Advert (http://www.telecom.co.nz/security)

As we all know esp the people who see these things on a daily basis, mcAfee can sometimes cause a LOT of problems - and as an antivirus I personally can say its not that good. (I'm being polite ;) )

Edited: one thing I have found over the years - many of the companies that "package" several apps together and then call them a Security suit - more often than not, the whole package is no where as good a individual apps from various places.

Sweep
13-03-2009, 08:27 PM
And the so called Telecom suite does not work on my operating system in any event.