PDA

View Full Version : Can i use this hard drive



aidanmaz
10-03-2009, 05:52 PM
I had a 320Gb SATA drive that gave a disk read error and wouldnt boot, so i put it in an XP machine and used check disk to fix it.... would it be okay to use as a data drive, or shud i throw it out?

hueybot3000
10-03-2009, 06:01 PM
Youd probaly want to do a deeper scan of it first, I have a freeware programme on a disk around here somewhere which supposedly does that but I cant remember the name of it. It stress tested etc as well

Does this sound familiar to anyone? Was something like stressdisk07 or something

aidanmaz
10-03-2009, 06:05 PM
If i can get the name of it il use it, but i dont want to fill it up with files for it to die again and lose everything

hueybot3000
10-03-2009, 06:05 PM
What brand is it?

Seagate try this
http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/downloads/discwizard

WD try this
http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?lang=en

aidanmaz
10-03-2009, 06:08 PM
its a Samsung HD321KJ

hueybot3000
10-03-2009, 06:10 PM
http://www.samsung.com/global/business/hdd/support/utilities/Support_HUTIL.html

Should do it, find your model in the list first

Blam
10-03-2009, 06:31 PM
Use seatools, even though it not samsung

And use Speedfan to monitor/check the SMART status

aidanmaz
10-03-2009, 06:51 PM
Im using Barts Stuff Tester http://www.nu2.nu/bst/ which writes data till i run out of free space.... *i think*

Agent_24
10-03-2009, 10:54 PM
Give it a full scan with whatever application samsung give you, and use Speedfan to check the SMART status online.

But there are many other reasons why windows may not be able to read files on a drive. Faulty cabling or controller, RAM or other things (even virus) can cause problems.

aidanmaz
11-03-2009, 09:25 AM
wen i put it in an xp machine (as it originally was vista) the xp disk checker came up before i got into xp, and spent the better part of an hour fix the disk. at the end there was only 4kb in bad sectors..... is this good or bad? And the Bart Stuff Tester, did a sequential write, filled the drive and did a sequential read + compare, and had no errors....so i can be safe in say the disk is good?

Agent_24
11-03-2009, 10:19 AM
IF you hibernated it, and then stuck it in another computer, you can cause all sorts of problems as the filesystem is still mounted.

I would install SpeedFan from http://www.almico.com/speedfan.php and check the SMART status online. I would especially be looking at the reallocated sector/event count and pending sector count

(note that using the online analysis will notify you of anything of interest)

If you want further opinion, get a screenshot of the online SMART analysis page from speedfan and post it here or imagef1

aidanmaz
11-03-2009, 01:36 PM
the tests show the drive is fine.... but im too scared to use it, i want to put it in a VMware ESX 3i virtual server, but dont want to lose data.

Agent_24
11-03-2009, 03:35 PM
If there's no reallocated sectors you're probably fine

I would take note of how many there are (if any) and then do a full re-zero and verify of the entire drive. If any sectors get reallocated, or the number increases after you do that, then I'd be suspicious.

Or just do a level 5 check with Spinrite. If the drive survives that then I would be happy

aidanmaz
11-03-2009, 08:09 PM
here is the Online Speedfan SMART screenshot here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/sppedfan.JPG)

Blam
11-03-2009, 08:15 PM
That looks fine, but the your hard drive is running quite a bit hotter than mine!

Do you have a front 120mm fan to cool the hard drives?

I'd added one, and the temps dropped 15 degrees!

aidanmaz
11-03-2009, 08:24 PM
yeah is running hot, only cos i have crammed three harddrives in the machine,

Agent_24
11-03-2009, 08:53 PM
Everything looks good apart from perhaps "Command time out"


A number of aborted operations due to HDD timeout. Normally this attribute value should be equal to zero and if you have values far above zero, then most likely you have some serious problems with your power supply or you have an oxidized data cable.

I would check your data and power cables. Tighten/replace/change if needed

aidanmaz
11-03-2009, 09:48 PM
PSU is less than 1 month old, and the SATA cable i snitched from work on saturday, still in its plastic bag thingy....