PDA

View Full Version : Reimage -- Does it really work as it says?



Chilling_Silence
09-03-2009, 05:21 PM
It looks pretty cool, costs $79 for 3x PC's though ... might be nice for when fixing somebodies PC if they dont wanna format, IF it actually works like it "appears" to in the video examples.

Anybody used it?

Speedy Gonzales
09-03-2009, 05:24 PM
Never heard of it

Cicero
09-03-2009, 05:29 PM
Never heard of it


http://www.reimage.com/

pctek
09-03-2009, 06:39 PM
No idea. Haven't tried. Try it and see (make an image with a known working one as well for saffety)

wainuitech
09-03-2009, 08:03 PM
just tried it on a workshop PC - the PC runs fine, no problems - took just over half an hour Even gives suggestions (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/untitled11236580939.jpg) along the way.

There is a question sheet - I ticked - just looking ( or words to that effect)
At the end it gives you the option of paying for the fixes, or fixing it yourself -most were reg fixes.

Is it worth it ??? the pricing is USA remember - so NZ round figures 3 PC's = $154.00 Unlimited usage $292.00/Month.

They do say if it doesn't fix the PC, they will refund your money IF you apply within 7 days. It does have the option to make a bootable CD to connect to their site.

IF I feeling like spending some money - I MIGHT give it a go on a single infected virus riddled PC, then run the normal clean out I do and see what happens and thats a BIG MIGHT!!

Edited: out of interest - just checked my usage on Telstra, at the time I was running it, the program Downloaded around 173MB (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Usage.jpg)of info from their site, which shows at the top of the process bar.

Blam
09-03-2009, 08:04 PM
Too good to be true if you ask me.

robsonde
09-03-2009, 09:17 PM
looks like a package of a reg cleaner, and spyware remover.

could be very good for people who dont know how to use Ccleaner/ SpybotS&D / HijackThis

robsonde
09-03-2009, 11:08 PM
so I had a quick play....
it took about 35 minutes to scan my system, I declined to pay for any fixes....

I am not too happy that the program leaves several files and folders on your C: drive....
many files starting with the name REI and two folders.
this is what I call installing crap.
the point of this product to to remove the crap.

there seems to be no un-installer, and you cant delete the original .exe until you re-boot.


this bad behaviour is the big turn off for me.


best solution is to re-build your system clean and then make a ghost image of it.
then every 6 months or as need you re-build the system with the ghost copy, run all your updates and make a new ghost image.

pctek
10-03-2009, 08:18 AM
Hmmm. Lets stick with doing it manually ourselves then......

Chilling_Silence
10-03-2009, 11:42 AM
MMmmm... To be honest my thoughts were "If its that far gone that its in need of dire repair, then if it cant be fixed by 15 mins easily of my time, give it a format". Unless of course there's a ton of specialist apps that require re-setup etc, but yeah.

Plus at the base cost of USD$65 per-box, whats the point! Surely its easier to spend 2 hours doing a backup / reformat than to pay some automated script to attempt a fix. My thoughts anyways ;)

Still, its a nice idea!