PDA

View Full Version : Which would you choose??



stormdragon
09-03-2009, 12:25 PM
Which CPU would you choose? Will be used mostly general use, bit of coding and picture editing, along with running multiple Virtual Machines simultaneously and a bit of gaming.

Will possibly OC.

Will be matched with a new motherboard, 4GB or 8GB DDR2-800 and an 8800GTS 320MB

AMD Phenom 9850 Quad-Core Black Edition AM2 2.5GHZ (http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=6515)

AMD Phenom 9950 Quad-Core Black Edition AM2 2.6GHZ (http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7143)

AMD Phenom II X4 Processor 810 2.6GHZ (http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=8588)

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.00GHZ 6MB 1333MHZ 45NM LGA775 (http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=5663)

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHZ LGA775 4MB L2 CACHE 1333MHZ QUAD CORE (http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7094)

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz 8M LGA775 Processor (http://www.ifocus.co.nz/CPU+-+Intel/Intel+Core+2+Quad+Q6700+2.66GHz+8M+LGA775+Processo r+-+Retail.html)

Blam
09-03-2009, 12:29 PM
A Q6700 or Q6600 then oc 3ghz.

Or, if you're not going to OC, the E8400

If you're going to go for AMD(mainly for value) then go for the slower clock speed quads, then OC it

stormdragon
09-03-2009, 12:35 PM
Thanks for the fast reply Blam, you didn't even let me get my poll in first ;)

Q6600 are a bit hard to source these days.

Speedy Gonzales
09-03-2009, 12:54 PM
Depends how much it costs, on whether I'll bother getting it

hueybot3000
09-03-2009, 03:44 PM
Q6600 are mostly extinct now blam, i tried gettin one recently but i think il have to up my budget instead :)

Growly
09-03-2009, 04:17 PM
If you're going to be running virtual machines then the quad core will come in very handy, but for general use the newer, smaller process E8400 will be a better choice. Significantly multithreaded apps still aren't quite as prevalent as some would have us believe, especially in games.

The AMD chips are very good for the price you pay (as has historically been the case), but I myself would spend for the extra power of the Intel architecture.

I'm trying to hold off until the mid-range nehalem chips becomes available...

plod
09-03-2009, 06:24 PM
What os will you be using?

pctek
09-03-2009, 06:38 PM
Core i7

stormdragon
09-03-2009, 07:24 PM
What os will you be using?

XP Pro x86 or XP Pro x64 and Vista Business x64


Core i7

Don't really have the money to spend on an i7 mobo and DDR3.

plod
09-03-2009, 07:36 PM
XP Pro x86 or XP Pro x64 and Vista Business x64



Don't really have the money to spend on an i7 mobo and DDR3.

definitely go for 64bit if using virtualization, will be able to make use of all that ram you want

stormdragon
09-03-2009, 07:44 PM
Yea that's the point of Vista Business x64.

XP Pro x64 is just a bit buggie for me atm. But that could just be the current install and or hardware.

Blam
09-03-2009, 08:27 PM
The performance difference between the 9850 and the Q6700/Q8200 isn't very much, but if you can in terms of overclockability IMO, the Q6700 would be a better choice.

But, if amd sticks to the am2+ platform with newer cpus, upgrading will be quite cheap.

Nomad
09-03-2009, 09:56 PM
I would go for E8400 myself if it is general use.

If the main use is specific software ie., not general use, I woudl go for Quad Core. AFAIK the Intel are a bit faster than AMD. I got a Quad Core a month ago approx. But these days I may wait a bit more and get iCore if most is for specialised work. $600cpu + $400 mobo. I think some Quad Cores are already $400+ for the CPU and the motherboard can be $250+.

Nomad
09-03-2009, 10:01 PM
I may just get 4GB, 8GB will be much more $$ since if you get 4x2GB you run out of slots. Quad Cores are 4 slots I think if you don't get micro ATX motherboards which has 2. iCore has 6 I think if not mistaken. If you wanna have some building potential, you look at 2x4GB sticks that is quite expensive.

I use photoshop, if I take 10 or more digital SLR RAW images (6MP file) and stitch them into a panorama, it may use up 2GB RAM. 500Gb windows and other bits. If you are editing pictures normally, it may only use 1 or 1.5GB.

Brooko
10-03-2009, 12:12 AM
Storm
I can't really comment on the Phenoms - as haven't seen one in action. But if you google Q6700 vs 9950, most reviewers back the Intel for pure performance.

As far as the Intels you listed - assuming from original post that you are talking about mutiple running VM's, a quad is the way to go. That leaves you with the Q6700 and the Q8200. The Q8200 has half the cache and only 7 x multiplier (vs 9 on the Q6700) - so it's not going to be a great choice for an OC. It's really the bottom of the barrel for the intel quads. The Phenoms would be better than the 8200.

The Q6700 would be a great choice for what you indicated. You can get a very easy OC - and with decent cooling you have the choice of pushing harder or prolonging the life of the chip (even with the OC). I'm running a Q6600 @ a very modest 3Ghz with a Xig HDT1283 and it idles @ mid/late 20's, and even under load with Prime95 won't go above 55C. And my OC is not even tweaked really - all I did was increase the FSB and up the vcore by a small amount. Dead easy. With decent air cooling, 3.6 should be achievable on my Q6600 (400x9) if I wanted it - but I'm pretty happy with my temps, it handles multiple vm's with ease, and just runs really well.

Q6700 no question.

stormdragon
10-03-2009, 11:04 AM
I may just get 4GB, 8GB will be much more $$ since if you get 4x2GB you run out of slots. Quad Cores are 4 slots I think if you don't get micro ATX motherboards which has 2. iCore has 6 I think if not mistaken. If you wanna have some building potential, you look at 2x4GB sticks that is quite expensive.

Nomad I already have 4GB of good quality DDR2-800 RAM so would rather keep that and possible add another 4GB later. An i7 would require a more expensive mobo and all new DDR3 RAM, which I don't really have the money for atm.


Might go for a 6700 if the budget allows.

Chilling_Silence
10-03-2009, 11:48 AM
One thing to bear in mind is if you get a graphics card then that'll knock back the amount of addressable RAM in 32-bit Windows, so stick with a low-MB onboard solution unless gaming.

Also, this may be of interest:
http://www.anandtech.com/gadgets/showdoc.aspx?i=3034

stormdragon
10-03-2009, 03:01 PM
Cheers Chilly

I'm aware of the 32bit limitations

Primary OS would be Vista Business x64.

The only point of keeping Windows XP possibly 32bit was in case something didn't run correctly with Vista

stormdragon
24-03-2009, 03:57 PM
Couldn't source a Q6700, so ended up with a Q9400, bit more then I anticipated speeding but I'm happy with the way its running.

Supposedly Intel disabled their virtualisation technology in the Q8200 which was part of the whole point of the upgrade.