PDA

View Full Version : Bootcamp fan drivers



music_man
08-03-2009, 10:44 PM
Hi,

Does anyone know of a tool (not smcFan, speedFan or inputRemapper) that can control the fans when I'm in Vista in Bootcamp?

Thanks

hueybot3000
08-03-2009, 11:43 PM
Why not speedfan? I think it works just fine if your hardware supports it

Otherwise try this search
http://www.google.co.nz/search?hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&rlz=1R1GGGL_en-GB___NZ316&hs=3Hb&q=vista+boot+camp+fan+controller&btnG=Search&meta=

I found a few threads about it

music_man
09-03-2009, 12:09 AM
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I had been using SpeedFan but it couldn't affect my fan speeds. I'm guessing it is something to do with the EFI/BIOS talking to each other.

I've spent a long time searching through forums and threads.

hueybot3000
09-03-2009, 12:13 AM
are you sure your hardwares up to it?

music_man
09-03-2009, 12:19 AM
Yeah, it should be able to play reasonably old games without overheating to the point of graphics errors

hueybot3000
09-03-2009, 12:21 AM
? what you mean? you want to make the fans faster?

music_man
09-03-2009, 12:34 AM
When the computer is doing something intensive, the fans usually speed up. Unfortunately with my windows installation it stays at the same speed - which leads to overheating.

hueybot3000
09-03-2009, 12:36 AM
I see, Id say a fan controller would be the best bet then. As in a thing that fits in your computer with a knob on it. Most computer shops have them starting at $20-$30

Thebananamonkey
09-03-2009, 12:50 AM
This might sound silly, but I thought that macs were cooled by convection?

Do you know that it isn't entirely passive? That sounds like a SJ thing to do. Very Zen.

Of course, I'm probably wrong, but it's worth checking out.

PS. Hueybot, how's he going to get a fan controller into a mac? Pretty tricky mod right there.

PPS. Musicman, you might consider purchasing a proper computer, one that can run an OS that actually has software written for it. ( :p )

hueybot3000
09-03-2009, 03:26 PM
That would make sense, its not like theres room for anything extra in there lol