PDA

View Full Version : So many choices...



minster
01-03-2009, 08:41 PM
I have decided to put together a new computer for myself in the next few weeks/months.
Finished pc will need to be reliable, running XP Pro and Vista Hp dual booted.
I intend it to have max of 4 gb ram as I do a lot of graphics intensive 3D art.
Not into moderm games but hopefully will still have the capabilities if required.
Case, PSU are not hard to find but making final decisions on what Motherboard, CPU and Graphics card that are a bit more than I need (allowing for future upgrades) is quite confusing?
AMD or Intel?
Budget for Mobo,CPU and Ram hopefully less than $500.
Graphics card around $150

Any suggestions on good but realistic combinations of the above would be appreciated.

Question;
I am hoping to use a good brand 650w PSU.
Can PSU's be TOO BIG?

Blam
01-03-2009, 08:53 PM
CPU: $159.00 Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz 2M
Mobo: $210.00 Asustek P5QL Pro
RAM: $120.00 Corsair 2x2gb DDR2 800

http://pconlineshop.co.nz/pcshop/product_info.php?products_id=277016
http://www.extremepc.co.nz/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=3264
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7489

I recommend the XFX 9600GSO for a graphics card, currently the fastest sub $100 card.

PSU=550w will be sufficient, 620w recommended, 650w will leave plenty of room for upgrades. You can't really have too big a psu, its just wasting unneeded power though.
I recommend you get a good PSU brand such as Corsair, Antec or Silverstone.

Go for a modular one if you want a neat case and have the money.
BTW the CPu I recommended is very overclockable, in the future, should you need more pseed, throw in a air cooler for 50 bucks and you could OC that CPU to 3.2-3.5ghzat leats. Even with the stoc cooler you could prob get 2.8ghz easy, maybe 3.0ghz

Blam

qazwsxokmijn
01-03-2009, 08:58 PM
Motherboard - Asustek P5QL-PRO - $200ish
RAM - GSkill/SuperTalent/Adata 4GB - $110ish
CPU - Intel E5300 2.6GHz - $175ish

Total - $485ish exc shipping.

$150 for a video card is not much. Get a 9600GSO which is not great, but not too bad either.

For this system a 450W Corsair would suffice but 650W will give you a lot of room to upgrade. Look for reputable brands like Antec, Enermax, Corsair, SilverStone, Thermaltake.

EDIT: damn it blam, don't beat me to things! :p

wainuitech
01-03-2009, 09:11 PM
Just looking at those spec's provided - remember that Vista and XP unless its 64bit wont see much above 3 GB of RAM.

As for the rest - not to bad - the board I've got is the ASUS P5QL-E ( next one above the Pro) has a few extra "Features".

Graphic Card - the same as mentioned.

CPU - OK got a Q6600, only because I had it laying about

RAM - only got 2GB - runs Vista fine, never stalled it yet - may drop in another Gig sometime.

Overall Performance / Vista Rating (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Performance1235898187.jpg) is sitting at 5.5 - you can see what tops it out - 5.9 is as high as Vista goes from memory.

qazwsxokmijn
01-03-2009, 09:14 PM
got a Q6600, only because I had it laying about
Wish I had one of those just laying about.....:crying

minster
01-03-2009, 09:17 PM
Thanks Guys looks good so far:)
Wainui,
I am aware of the limitations of 32bit but does 64 bit have any issues?
Mainly thinking about software compatibilities??

beeswax34
01-03-2009, 09:21 PM
What software are you planning on running? Any specialist stuff?

wainuitech
01-03-2009, 09:24 PM
Wish I had one of those just laying about.....:crying I was ordering parts for several PC's and ticked the box with the Q6600 by mistake and didn't notice till it turned up - Oh well was going to use it some time any way :lol:


but does 64 bit have any issues Some programs spit the dummy, some drivers still can cause problems - some people have no problems while others do.

minster
01-03-2009, 09:30 PM
Bit open ended question ...How long is a length of string?:)
I run all the normal software for AV and maitenance. Eset, TrojanRemover, MalwareBytes etc.
Graphics include Illustrator Xara Extreme Photoshop Some 3D apps Flash apps and I also want to be able to do dvd/movie editting.
Too much software to name here but as I already own it I don't want to build a pc that can't utilise what I have already got.
I also play a lot of online snooker which is quite intensive.

minster
01-03-2009, 09:45 PM
Just a thought!

Is AMD an option and if so ... recommendations within the same or lower price bracket?

Blam
01-03-2009, 10:03 PM
AMD is an option-maybe a ATHLON X2 5000+ with a an Asus M3N78 mobo.

Would lower the price by about a hundred bucks.

64bit doesn't have too many issues-most programs should work, as 64bit vista comes with a 32bit emulation layer to make 32bit programs work with 64bit.....some still don't work though. And you may incur some driver issues

Blam
01-03-2009, 10:13 PM
CPU - OK got a Q6600, only because I had it laying about



Happen to have any other spare parts lying around you're willing to give to a poor boy?:p;)

minster
02-03-2009, 07:39 AM
Thanks for the replies. Much appreciated:)
I have taken a note of your suggestions and will start making enquirees.
The 32 v 64bit issue could be the hardest thing to resolve because while power is good to have, compatibility and peace of mind are uppermost to me.

Blam
02-03-2009, 10:15 AM
TBH, 64bit is becoming more and more mainstream, and most programs will work with 64 bit anyways. Less programs and drivers are having problems with 64 bit now