PDA

View Full Version : Asus wl-520gc router.



brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:01 PM
i have a wireless asus router, that has lost it firemware somehow. i can not ping the router, i can can not put it in rescue mode, all it dose is lights LAN 1 to 4 up and the WAN and thats about it.

im thinking that it a brick.

ive been trying for mouths to get the thing working, so i thorught i would post
any i ideas how i could debrick it and get some life into it would b great

Speedy Gonzales
21-02-2009, 04:02 PM
Can you log into it? If you can its probably not dead

Blam
21-02-2009, 04:04 PM
Tried holing the reset button for 20 seconds, unplug power(continue holding button) wait another 20 seconds, and plug it back in?

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:10 PM
no i can log in to it, the computer dosnt even detected the connection of the router at all,

and ive tryed holding it down for the right time need but nothing happens,

ive lookd over google and cant find anything on the router

cheers

Blam
21-02-2009, 04:12 PM
Try another ethernet cable to connect to the pc.

jwil1
21-02-2009, 04:14 PM
Which port are you using to connect it to your PC? Use a LAN port, not the WAN one.

Wait for a reply from Chilling_Silence before giving up - he is great at sorting problems with these routers :)

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:15 PM
ive tryed 10 differnt ethernet calbes that all work with my other router

jwil1
21-02-2009, 04:16 PM
ive tryed 10 differnt ethernet calbes that all work with my other router

Did you try my suggestion?

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:16 PM
hey umm im using the lan ports ive try all 4 ports and the wan too,

jwil1
21-02-2009, 04:17 PM
Is it running custom firmware (eg DD-WRT, Tomato etc)?

Speedy Gonzales
21-02-2009, 04:21 PM
Info for it is here (http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?modelmenu=1&model=1672&l1=12&l2=43&l3=0&l4=0)

And downloads are here (http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=WL-520gC)

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:22 PM
well that just it i dont even think it runing any firmware on it at all.
becuse i can not ping it or even connect to it

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:24 PM
ive try all the downloads off the asus site it dosnt work because it cant find the router,
if i can get the router to show some life then ill be able to use them

Blam
21-02-2009, 04:25 PM
Enable Failure Mode - remove the power, press and hold the reset button while returning power. Within a few seconds the PWR LED starts flashing slowly (once second on, one second off). Release the reset button and continue.

Blam

Speedy Gonzales
21-02-2009, 04:27 PM
Check out the forum for it (http://vip.asus.com/forum/topic.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=WL-520gC&board_id=11)

Someone may have a solution / fix

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 04:27 PM
yeah well ive tryed that b4 it dosnt really do anything the powerlight dosnt even turn on or anything, it just the 4 lan ports and the wan port light that are on, and there nothing connected to them apart from on etho cable

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 05:34 PM
none of those forms solved my problem

jwil1
21-02-2009, 05:38 PM
Which firmware is it running? The default one or a custom one (eg DD-WRT, Tomato)?

Speedy Gonzales
21-02-2009, 05:39 PM
Well if its under warranty take it back

If this is only a router, whats the modem?

Blam
21-02-2009, 05:39 PM
If the power light isn't even on....then :(

Wait for Chill...he might be able to help

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 05:48 PM
ummm no it not under warranty. and asus wants money to fix it, which i dont want to do, this is my last resort, then ill go by a new one :D

and yeah ill wait for him b4 i give up

Chilling_Silence
21-02-2009, 06:51 PM
The -gC model doesnt have the "You cant brick me" option the -gU does unfortunately.
Basically if you hold down the "Restore" button on the back for 10 seconds, the power light should very slowly flash on and off. Thats it resetting the firmware. Can you confirm it does the slow flashing when holding down the Restore button? Bear in mind as soon as you release it, it'll start powering it up again.

What Firmware is it running? Were you trying to flash it? (Its OK to say yes, things occasionally go wrong .. Ive had about 15 of those through my hands and another 10 of the -gU models, none leave my hands running stock firmware!)

Also, there's the possibility DHCP may be disabled, though doing a factory reset should have fixed that unless you disabled the factory reset button with a non-standard firmware. Try manually setting your IP Address to 192.168.1.2, netmask as 255.255.255.0 and gateway as 192.168.1.2

Let us know how you go :) Good luck!

brendanBiggs
21-02-2009, 07:18 PM
hey thanks for the reply, ummm well basicly i purchased the router in aus while i was over there, and i didnt test to see if it was working or not, and when i got home test it, it didnt work just the 5 lights came on. and ive been looking all ova the net for a soloution, what i think ive found out is it dose not have a fireware on it. ive try using the restore button thing lots of time but the power button never turns on. it just the 5 lights as i sed b4.

the computer im trying to use it on dosnt want to pick the connection up, but i no it works with other routers,

so have u got any other suggestions that i could try

Chilling_Silence
21-02-2009, 10:55 PM
Basically it sounds like a dud unfortunately. Did you purchase it brand new? As they're not shipped from Asus without Firmware, somebody has to have tried to flash it and failed, potentially a firmware thats too big or something, Im not sure ..

So you've *just* purchased it from what I understand? It cant be returned?

brendanBiggs
22-02-2009, 02:19 PM
okay well

is there anyway possable to make it work again,

and nope i cant return it

Blam
22-02-2009, 03:26 PM
In my honest opinion-probably not.
You could try, since you can't refund it anyways.

Out of curiosity, what mad you buy the router in aussie?
Its already pretty damn cheap in NZ.
http://www.nzoczone.com/product_info.php?products_id=6019

For stuff like this, either test it first b4 you bring it over, or if you're trying to safe a few extra bucks, forget it. Having a warranty is worth it

Blam