PDA

View Full Version : Phenom X4 Quad-Core



Tbird650
17-02-2009, 02:26 AM
I want to run a phenom x4 but am confused about what board to choose.
I thought sorting this would be easy but am more puzzled now than a week ago when I started research.
I see the AMD website for recommended mobos list hardly any Asus boards.

http://products.amd.com/en-us/RecommendedMBFilter.aspx

They quote: AMD continues to test motherboards for compliance with AMD processor requirements. As models pass testing, this list will be updated accordingly.

I like the sound of M3A78-EM but why don't AMD endorse it? ...and it's supposedly AM3 compatible. I need a system for multitasking, video and photoshop.

Can anyone throw any light onto this situation, recommend a known good combo or give an opinion?

Thanks.

pctek
17-02-2009, 08:49 AM
Wouldn't worry about it. Just go with the board you like.

Blam
17-02-2009, 08:52 AM
As long as its AM2+/AM3 compatible it'll prob work.
What X4 were you looking at?
And are you planning to OC?

vladiator
17-02-2009, 12:26 PM
I just built a pc with Phenom II and M3A78-EM and so far it works. :)

Rob99
17-02-2009, 12:55 PM
They quote: AMD continues to test motherboards for compliance with AMD processor requirements. As models pass testing, this list will be updated accordingly.

I like the sound of M3A78-EM but why don't AMD endorse it? ...and it's supposedly AM3 compatible. I need a system for multitasking, video and photoshop.

Can anyone throw any light onto this situation,They have not tested that model yet...:stare:

DeSade
17-02-2009, 03:33 PM
Last ASUS board I brought was utter crap, never buy another one.
Check out Gigabyte.

Tbird650
17-02-2009, 06:30 PM
Thanks to everyone for the helpful tips.

I propose to use the 9750 like here:
http://www.promax.co.nz/product_info.php?products_id=1800

with the mobo like this:
http://www.promax.co.nz/product_info.php?cPath=27_35_89&products_id=2114

Comments invited.

I won't be doing OC.

I currently run a 4200 athlon dual core on a M2NPV-MX mobo.
It's also been suggested to run the 9750 on that board and forget about the mobo upgrade. Is this too much of a compromise with a board that won't take full advantage of the quad's capability?
What can I expect with that combo?

Speedy Gonzales
17-02-2009, 07:08 PM
This is what the M2NPV-MX supports (http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=M2NPV-MX&product=1)

I cant see any CPU update for a Quad. So, that mobo probably doesnt support one

Tbird650
17-02-2009, 09:55 PM
Speedy

Thanks, thats good information. Looks like the old board will be a hand-me-down to the nephew.

Speedy Gonzales
17-02-2009, 10:00 PM
No probs

Tbird650
18-02-2009, 12:20 PM
The next thing is will my current 300w power supply be adequate. I run a 1gig fanless video card and don't do any gaming. I watch videos though. Is there a spec or is it just what works without problems?

Rob99
18-02-2009, 12:21 PM
no

wratterus
18-02-2009, 12:22 PM
no

definitley not.

Tbird650
18-02-2009, 02:37 PM
Hi,
I just checked and it's a half gig card, a Asus en8600GT 512mb ddr3.

I have a 400w power supply in an older case here. Would that be a possible fit?
It's an olympic ATX 400, edition for P4. It looks as though it's been a recent replacement.
What's there to know about swapping PSU? I can think of the sata hdd power socket may be different.... but isnt that sortable with an adaptor?

Blam
18-02-2009, 02:41 PM
450w at least.
Try to get a corsair, antec, or a silverstone

Olympic=BAD!

Tbird650
18-02-2009, 03:03 PM
I just did a check of system spec here with this calculator:
http://www.extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine
It recommends 516w PSU .......(and 478w without video card).

This appears high when you consider this TM auction is for phenom9750 based tower with a 400w PSU only. What am I missing?
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Desktops/No-monitor/auction-202625997.htm

DeSade
18-02-2009, 03:24 PM
The Trademe machine is under-powered.

Tbird650
18-02-2009, 09:48 PM
I spoke to the PC shop today. They recommend I run with a mobo that has nvidia chipset drivers, to be more compatible with my EN8600GT nvidia card.
How true is that? Is it a pain trying to mix and match different makers?
The board I was considering has AMD 780G/SB700 chipset.

Tbird650
19-02-2009, 10:46 PM
Well, I've kept at the study and I like the look of this tasty looking board: http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=3&l2=149&l3=643&l4=0&model=2268&modelmenu=1
M3N78-VM, supports AM3, HyperTransport 3.0, GeForce™ 8200, Express Gate, Native DDR2 1066

...drop on a cpu:
http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUDetail.aspx?id=401&f1=&f2=&f3=&f4=&f5=&f6=&f7=&f8=&f9=&f10=

...& a 500w PSU something like this raidmax:
http://www.cbcnz.com/product_info.php/products_id/124404

How's it sound/look?

A question: I see quite often a board with have a rev#. Is this something to watch out for??

dugimodo
20-02-2009, 08:00 AM
I spoke to the PC shop today. They recommend I run with a mobo that has nvidia chipset drivers, to be more compatible with my EN8600GT nvidia card.
How true is that? Is it a pain trying to mix and match different makers?
The board I was considering has AMD 780G/SB700 chipset.

not very true with good components, consider that the chipset would then be made by a different manufacturer than the cpu. I have found though that the system that has proven to be the most rock solid of all my builds has been intel chipset, intel cpu ( if quite a bit less flexible ). Go with the board you want - the Video card will work.

DeSade
20-02-2009, 08:17 AM
I agree with dugimodo.
I ran my nvidia card with both nvidia and intel chipsets in the past right now I am running a crossfire intel chipped gigabyte board with a nvidia card and its more stable than the nvidia chip ever was.