PDA

View Full Version : PC Stopping at Logo Screen



Bantu
16-02-2009, 11:48 AM
What would stop the PC from continuing to boot?

It gets to the Gigabyte Screen where I can Press Delete Key or several other options but Del key does nothing and it goes no further.

Was working fine up until now:-(

Gigabyte X48T-DQ6 Board

Blam
16-02-2009, 12:11 PM
Corrupt system files?
Can you get to bios/ or tap f8 to get to safe mode?
If you can't, you can try resetting the cmos?

Blam

Speedy Gonzales
16-02-2009, 12:15 PM
Sounds like what happened to mine last week. The hdd died.

But, I could get into the BIOS tho. Thats when I found out, that the BIOS wasnt detecting the hdd.

So, I connected the hdd to another system, the BIOS didnt detect the hdd either. It was dead

I would connect the hdd to a working system and see if the BIOS detects it

Bantu
16-02-2009, 12:16 PM
Can't get as far as Bios screen. Tried the Del Key

It might be a Bios Reset required maybe.
Tried pulling the ram and trying them one by one made no difference.

Everything sounds fine, the normal single post beep then nothing past that point after the Gigabyte screen

Bantu
16-02-2009, 12:41 PM
HDD is fine I have checked that and disconnected the other two
Normally at the Gigabyte screen (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/attachment.php?attachmentid=164&stc=1&d=1234741027) I can hit Del key but nothing happening. Also tried a different keyboard same same.

I assume I need to pull the bios battery before clearing CMos, I am not sure. I did try shorting out the jumpers but that made no difference either, but did not take out the battery.

Bantu
16-02-2009, 01:35 PM
CMOS reset made no difference.
Switched out graphic card for an old PCI one, no difference.

Might be down to Motherboard, CPU or PSU now I guess:-(

Blam
16-02-2009, 03:08 PM
Try another PSU.

I would test that one first

Bantu
16-02-2009, 03:20 PM
Problem solved.

USB Hub was freezing it up. I never unplugged the hub, but was sitting there and happened to see the Webcam and Hub plugged in, removed them and all was sweet, threw on another Hub and it was back to normal.

I remember that exact Hub brand/Model doing the same on me about a year ago

gary67
16-02-2009, 07:15 PM
What brand model?

Bantu
16-02-2009, 09:10 PM
What brand model?

Belkin 7 Port Hub F5U237ea
This is the Second one that has caused freeze ups, I just forgot about the first one as it was a while back. I have 5 other Belkin Hubs that are ok. (Well they are at the moment and different models)

Speedy Gonzales
16-02-2009, 10:26 PM
It was probably trying to boot from something in the hub, that wasnt bootable

Bantu
17-02-2009, 07:08 AM
Seems strange as it was just a card reader that had no card in it and an iPod cable with nothing attached.

I did not try it with those unplugged, but my last one of these I did and it was freezing with nothing plugged into it.