PDA

View Full Version : Seagate firmware

Koenig Tiger
15-02-2009, 04:23 PM
Yes I'm a newbie so hope I do this okay.Want some advice from you guys..
Got a HP pc I bought Oct 2008 running vista home premium on seagate ST3500620AS 500GB which as you may know have been having prob's freezing etc..It's running firmware HP24 but I see on HP's site that they have issued a new firmware i.e HP26.My question is should I upgrade the firmware when I'm not having any problems?My friend says I should but I'm reluctant since I have never done a firmware upgrade on an HDD.PC=Model Name a6540a
Product Number KT484AA-ABG Appreciate any advice etc

gary67
15-02-2009, 04:39 PM
I usually go with the if it ain't broke but then I would listen to Wainuitech or PCtek on this one as they do this stuff on a daily basis as there jobs

wainuitech
15-02-2009, 06:04 PM
General rule with firmware is if it aint broke dont fix it - sometimes a firmware upgrade if it turns to custard - can actually make thing worse. BUT sometimes things do need upgrading, Eg: seagates Balls up with certain Drives. Batch Number 7200.11 Just be careful what you upgrade as per This article (http://www.channelregister.co.uk/2009/01/21/seagate_firmware_fix_breaks_barracudas/) - the firmware fix for the 1TB drives is actually causing the 500GB TO FAIL.

In the post you say you are having problems freezing - but this can be caused by many things. First I would make sure its not a software problem.

To check if its system/programs etc - click on the start orb, type in the search event, Event Viewer will display in the results - click it to open, On the left / Windows logs, expand them out, Look at System then Application Logs - if there are any errors at the time of the freezes, expand them and post back what they say.

Also - what Antivirus & Antispyware / Security programs are you running ???