PDA

View Full Version : ipod wont connect



GameJunkie
13-02-2009, 05:00 PM
hi all,

tried the above to add some videos etc but it wont show up in itunes, asks that it can perform faster on usb 2.0 , i know my pc has usb 2.0.

other messages saying usb device not recognised.
could this be the cable on it's way out or the ipod itself?

help appreciated
:thanks

Speedy Gonzales
13-02-2009, 05:09 PM
Delete the entries under USB controllers in device manager, then reboot

See if it makes a diff

I had a similar prob with the old Ipod here. Then I found out somehow the pins on the Ipod connection were bent. I had to use a straight screwdriver to straighten them.

So far so good, its still working

I would check the pins on the Ipod connection

GameJunkie
13-02-2009, 05:14 PM
how do i find device manager in vista?
will deleting them reinstall them upon reboot?

Speedy Gonzales
13-02-2009, 05:28 PM
Dont know dont use Vista, they'll come back, after you reboot

Whats the brand/model of the mobo?

GameJunkie
13-02-2009, 05:33 PM
i'll find it

found this
Motherboard
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

System Board
Chipset NVIDIA MCP61

Base Board
Manufacturer ECS
Product Nettle

BIOS
Vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Release Date 03/09/2007
BIOS Version String 5.05
ROM Size 512.00 kB

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3800+ CPU:0
Specification AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3800+
Current Speed 2.40 GHz
Size 128.00 kB
Size 512.00 kB

Speedy Gonzales
13-02-2009, 05:45 PM
mm by the looks of it, it should support USB 2.

If its an HP. Which also uses that mobo

If deleting the entries in device manager doesnt work, try another port (dont use a hub). It may not work, not all USB 2 devices like hubs

GameJunkie
13-02-2009, 06:03 PM
its a compaq SR5045AN
tried deleting entries in DM no luck, my 8GB usb drive works though.
i've tried the 2 usb ports on the front which i always use, i'll try the ones at the back

Blam
13-02-2009, 06:09 PM
My bet is on the cable.

Happened to an external HDD I fixed last week...the cable was faulty

GameJunkie
13-02-2009, 06:17 PM
my thoughts exactly blam, will look at a cable on trademe

GameJunkie
19-02-2009, 10:45 AM
just updating, brought a new ipod cable off trademe and all is working well.

thanks again, you were right on this one blam

GameJunkie
19-02-2009, 10:46 AM
just updating, brought a new ipod cable off trademe and all is working well.

thanks again, you were right on this one blam

Blam
19-02-2009, 08:31 PM
Glad it worked;)

wainuitech
19-02-2009, 08:38 PM
how do i find device manager in vista?
will deleting them reinstall them upon reboot? Device Manager in Vista - click the start Orb, type in Device - it will appear in the search results click to open.

GameJunkie
19-02-2009, 08:53 PM
thanks WT, found early on