PDA

View Full Version : cycles thro boot



NZHawk
10-02-2009, 08:34 AM
computer that gets to the login windows reboots....
- have checked the hard drive: ok
- cleaned the dust from inside
- will boot into safe mode
- ram (1Gb) diagnostics showed errors: pulled one of the two (2) sticks, ran diagnostics: passed; exchanged the two sticks, ran the diagnostics: passed; put both sticks back in, ran diagnostics: failed with errors; sticks are two 512Mb identical (same brand...)
- MS6734 motherboard


any suggestions as to:
1. why it wont boot other than into safe mode
2. why the ram error only with both sticks installed

Thank you

pctek
10-02-2009, 08:47 AM
How many RAm slots does the board have? 2 or 4?
If 4, do you have them in the right slots? The manual will show you.


Disbale Automatically Restart - Control Panel, System, Advanced. Startup.
That will let it BSOD and note the Stop error and tell us what it is.

If its happy in Safe Mode in can indicate a driver error but I'd suspect RAM in wrong slots first.

NZHawk
10-02-2009, 08:56 AM
2 memory slots on this motherboard.
turned automatic restart off
stop error is:
STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005,...>
amon.sys - address EFB19FF8 base at EFB1200, DateStamp 46440bc2

Driftwood
10-02-2009, 09:23 AM
Have you tryed last known good boot.

NZHawk
10-02-2009, 09:29 AM
Have you tryed last known good boot. ---> yes no change still can't boot

Agent_24
10-02-2009, 10:18 AM
amon.sys is part of Nod32. do you always get the error related to amon.sys?

pctek
10-02-2009, 10:18 AM
Try new RAM.
Amon.sys is part of NOD32.
The stop error usually indicates some stuff with windows system files.
I'd say its all to do with the RAM screwing things up.

Blam
10-02-2009, 10:24 AM
tried a repair installation?

Blam
10-02-2009, 10:25 AM
tried a repair installation?

this also sounds like a mobo problem...

NZHawk
10-02-2009, 10:30 AM
tried two alternative sticks of ram & got the same error.
will try the repair install next & will report back.


Thank you!

ronyville
10-02-2009, 10:40 AM
Try booting in to safe mode and uninstall NOD32. Than reboot the pc and see if you can boot normally. Had a simialr issue with one of my pcs at work. NOD32 kept crashing the PC for some unknown reason. Reisntall NOD32 after if the PCs is able to boot normally.

NZHawk
10-02-2009, 10:52 AM
removing NOD worked.
boot worked
running SFC right now
didn't do the repair install just yet.