PDA

View Full Version : How do I fix an I/O device error???



kiittyy1326
09-02-2009, 01:54 PM
I recently uninstalled The Elder Scrolls IV to fix a bug, but every time I try to reinstall it, it says An I/O device error has occured. and it stops installing.


I have windows vista, and nobody seems to understand that vista and XP are alot different...:confused:

pctek
09-02-2009, 01:59 PM
I/O error usually means either the CD or HDD has a fault.

Blam
09-02-2009, 02:04 PM
Is the disc scratched?
This error appears when their is an inability to copy from a destination

http://www.tech-faq.com/io-device-error.shtml

See if that fixes it

kiittyy1326
09-02-2009, 02:07 PM
it worked before

kiittyy1326
09-02-2009, 02:13 PM
http://www.tech-faq.com/io-device-error.shtml

on step #9 what drop down menu??

Speedy Gonzales
09-02-2009, 02:38 PM
The down arrow at the end

kiittyy1326
09-02-2009, 02:45 PM
there isnt one

Speedy Gonzales
09-02-2009, 02:48 PM
There is, I'm looking at it

Its at the end. If you click on the box alongside transfer mode, the other option will appear (It'll either be PIO mode, or DMA if available)

Agent_24
09-02-2009, 11:23 PM
Isn't there a difference between XP and Vista where the DMA setting is concerned?