PDA

View Full Version : self assembled build DOA



zarx
24-01-2009, 07:11 PM
This is my first attempt at building a computer from scratch, mostly from second hand components and when I tried to turn it on for the first time :horrified nothing happened so after rechecking all the connections etc I tried again to just a flash of the power light and a brief spurt of fan activity.
any help would be appreciated. :thanks

Speedy Gonzales
24-01-2009, 07:16 PM
Whats the specs of this system??

And what have you installed on the mobo?

1. Have you connected the ATX 12v connector to the mobo (from the PSU)??

2. Does it beep, (or does it beep more than once), if its got a speaker in the case?

3. Have you connected the CPU fan to the header on the mobo?

zarx
24-01-2009, 07:18 PM
1. yes I have

2. no, as far as I know the speaker is connected properly

3. yes

Speedy Gonzales
24-01-2009, 07:20 PM
Ok, so what kind of system is it? AMD? (754 / 939 pin) Intel (478 pin)?

More recent?

Whats the brand / model of the mobo?

stormdragon
24-01-2009, 07:21 PM
Are you sure that all the components were working initially being 2nd hand?

Did you place stand-offs correctly between the motherboard and case?

Did you protect against ESD?


What's the components?

zarx
24-01-2009, 07:27 PM
sorry forgot the specks

Silverstone 650W PSU as far as I know near new
Albatron K8NF4X 939
AMD 64 3000+ not to sure on specifics came with the mobo
adata ram matched pair of 1gb DDR 400
Gigabyte 8800 GTS bad match I know

wainuitech
24-01-2009, 07:32 PM
Quick test - take all the RAM out, turn on the PC, it should beep like crazy indicating No RAM.

zarx
24-01-2009, 08:20 PM
I tried removing the ram nothing but some brief fan activity

jwil1
24-01-2009, 08:53 PM
Did you put in the spacers between the motherboard and the case??

wainuitech
24-01-2009, 10:31 PM
I tried removing the ram nothing but some brief fan activity Try a different know good Power Supply - if its only kicking the fans its not getting power someplace.

Have you actually seen this board working in another unit at all before building your own. ?

zarx
25-01-2009, 08:11 AM
as I got the motherboard off trademe as is where is from someone who did the same but never tested it as they brought a new computer instead I would try and test the powersupply but I don't really have a spare mobo laying around that I would be willing to risk damaging if the powersupply is faulty is there any other way to test it?

as for the spacers I think I left a couple out by mistake but it wasn't touching the case I don't think.

wainuitech
25-01-2009, 08:27 AM
This is a long shot but try resetting the BIOS - remove the CMOS battery for about 10 minutes, or using the Jumper thats right next to the Battery move from the two pins its currently on to the reset position then put back as they were and this will reset the BIOS as well.


got the motherboard off trademe as is AS IS could mean Dead as

zarx
26-01-2009, 01:59 PM
I will try resetting the bios then and yes the mobo is looking to be the culprit whether I stuffed it or it was DOA is another matter.

SolMiester
26-01-2009, 02:05 PM
WT - The PSU is the one I sold him. Silverstone OP650w, brand new, so doubt it is that. I'm concerned about the mobo as is where is!.....and lack of stand offs!

wratterus
26-01-2009, 02:08 PM
Definitley the motherboard would be a bit sus. Highly unlikely to be the PSU but anythings possible.

You could try re-seating the RAM.

SolMiester
26-01-2009, 02:08 PM
zarx, what a shame you didnt state you were after a mobo and cpu!, I gave my WORKING Gigabyte KS939ultra with 3500+ Newcastle to the mother-in-law yesterday!

wainuitech
26-01-2009, 04:17 PM
Okay Sol - at least the PSU is good :thumbs:

One other way of testing the board in case its shorting on something is to take it out of the case, attach only whats required to get a boot - PSU, RAM, Monitor , Kb/Mouse and graphic Card if using one or OB graphics if not.

Place on a anti static bag, and look at the front header pins, locate the two that the On Switch was connected to and short them with a small screwdriver ( same thing the Power switch does basically) if the boards OK it should boot up and show on the screen - then complain about no drives.

zarx
27-01-2009, 10:51 AM
so it appears to be something to do with the graphics card as it shows some life with it removed but I don't have a replacement card or a inbuilt one I can't be 100% sure and I did have most of the stand-offs in I was just missing two (found one) but anyway looks like the pci-e slot or the graphics card pity it's worth a lot more than the old mobo that I bought cheap.

dbs
27-01-2009, 07:40 PM
is the extra power plug, into the 8800 plugged in?

zarx
27-01-2009, 10:43 PM
yup it was in (I took it back out) if only it was that simple.