PDA

View Full Version : Outlook 2003 Error



aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 07:53 AM
I am the contract IT person for a company, as Im a junior i am in once a week, One of the users gets an outlook error when she opens outlook and it refers to the licensing failing? I have uninstalled office and reinstalled from the admin share on the fileserver, which works for everyone else, what could have made this error and how do i resolve it, it reappears and I have to click ok about 20 times before it stays away.

Speedy Gonzales
23-01-2009, 08:27 AM
Whats the EXACT error message?

You mean activation fails?

aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 09:04 AM
Its Volume license, so activation isn't needed

Execption occured during licensing
Failed to create license component

Its is upon opening outlook, and a repair and a reinstall doesnt fix the issue

Speedy Gonzales
23-01-2009, 09:07 AM
Ring MS. Thats probably the easiest / fastest way to fix it

CYaBro
23-01-2009, 09:36 AM
What, if any, addons etc are they running?
Are they using Exchange?

aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 09:43 AM
Microsoft Exchange 2007

Addons: as far as i can tell there arent any, We use Accplise Document Management 2008... which is removed from the Audit Team, (which is where the user is situated, and others with identical machines dont have this issue)

CYaBro
23-01-2009, 10:57 AM
Once you have clicked the error away does Oulook work OK? Can send/receive emails etc?

aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 11:11 AM
after clicking ok several million times yes it works fine.

CYaBro
23-01-2009, 12:05 PM
Have you tried removing the Exchange account and seeing if the error still appears in Outlook?

aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 12:13 PM
yes, still happens, its a machine issue, not a user one. I've left it to my Senior IT guy but id still like to find a resolution myself.

CYaBro
23-01-2009, 12:17 PM
Has this machine ever had any copy of Outlook/Office 2007 on it? 60-day trial etc..

aidanmaz
23-01-2009, 12:26 PM
No company standard is office 2003. We did trial 2007 last year but that was on a spare test machine which is not in use currently

aidanmaz
05-02-2009, 09:15 AM
Microsofts solution.... uninstall Offiice and get 2007, which we cant do, as some of our apps do not adjust to 2007 very well just yet.