PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on new build



Blam
12-01-2009, 03:52 AM
I'm looking for a case for my new build with good airflow and build quality, mid to full tower size, I might consider smaller options.

Preferably around 150 dollars but anything under 200 is OK
Second hand is OK as long as its good quality

Antec 900 looks uber but it outer my budget

As for the PSU I'm prob gonna get either Corsair, Seasonic or Antec.
But I'm unsure about what size I should get for this new build.

Specs:

E8400(May OC)[bought]
P5Q Pro or P5Q-E(undecided)
Sapphire 4850[bought]
Seagate 500gb HDD
Liteon DVD/CD writer[bought]

Its for a cousin that games occasionally.
He's planning to add another 4850/4870 in a year or so and might OC.
Whadda ya reckon?

Cheers
Blam

P.S can you recommend a good air cooler for Socket775 CPUs?
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme look pretty good

Q man
12-01-2009, 06:48 AM
Should be a nice rig when built

I had a shop around and like the look of the thermaltake armour mx which is a mid size case, it's got great airflow and enough room inside for all your bits.
The Antec 900 is nice aye but rather spend the money on internals.
Thermalright ultra will be fine for atleast 4.0ghz

Trev
12-01-2009, 07:48 AM
Thermaltake Soprano DX
http://users.actrix.co.nz/trevw//Picture%20001.JPG
http://users.actrix.co.nz/trevw//Picture%20002.JPG
http://users.actrix.co.nz/trevw//Picture%20003.JPG
http://users.actrix.co.nz/trevw//Picture%20004.JPG
:)

pctek
12-01-2009, 07:55 AM
As for the PSU I'm prob gonna get either Corsair, Seasonic or Antec.


P.S can you recommend a good air cooler for Socket775 CPUs?
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme look pretty good

Thermalright is excellent.

Don't get Seasonic.

Cases are a matter of personal taste, any ATX midtower or bigger will do.
http://www.overclockers.co.nz/product/case/index.shtml

Blam
12-01-2009, 09:48 AM
Did you guys forget about my budget lol?

I've decided to go raidmax

Deciding between the Sagitta2, Smilodon and Raptor.

Any thoughts?
http://www.overclockers.co.nz/product/case/raidmax/928-X.shtml
http://www.overclockers.co.nz/product/case/raidmax/612-X.shtml
http://www.overclockers.co.nz/product/case/raidmax/raptor.shtml

Blam

Edit:Antec 300 looks good too:http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=6597

Q man
12-01-2009, 09:57 AM
Do you want a cheap thermaltake matrix? second hand but mint condition


http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?item=CHATHM12446

pctek
12-01-2009, 10:25 AM
Deciding between the Sagitta2, Smilodon and Raptor.

Any thoughts?
http://www.overclockers.co.nz/product/case/raidmax/928-X.shtml
[

Yuk for the Sagitta. The other 2 are OK.
Don't like that Matrix either QMan.

But as I said, its personal taste.................Just make sure the PSU is decent. Corsair or Antec are good.

Q man
12-01-2009, 10:32 AM
(matrix) Its cheap though only $70

I would go with a corsair 600w they are pretty good product for the money

My armour tx was only $200 good build quality but not many people I know like the look of that either, like you said personal taste.

SolMiester
12-01-2009, 10:33 AM
OMG, Fugly cases......people should be shot for having those!

Blam
12-01-2009, 10:42 AM
PCtek-are you saying almost all case brands have the same build quality?
So there isn't a particular brand thats good?
If so, I'll probably go for the one with good looks:D

Smilodon it is.

As for the PSUs: are these brands OK?

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7226
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=4585
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7219
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7498

I'll just stick with a corsair if they suck.
Do you reckon 550w is enough?
Or should I get a 600/620/650w?

Blam

SolMiester
12-01-2009, 10:53 AM
PCtek-are you saying almost all case brands have the same build quality?
So there isn't a particular brand thats good?
If so, I'll probably go for the one with good looks:D

Smilodon it is.

As for the PSUs: are these brands OK?

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7226
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=4585
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7219
http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=7498

I'll just stick with a corsair if they suck.
Do you reckon 550w is enough?
Or should I get a 600/620/650w?

Blam

No and Lian Li\Silverstone and maybe Thermaltake

Blam
13-01-2009, 12:43 PM
Down to these two models:

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=6478

http://www.computerlounge.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=4585

Same price...which one?

Sweep
15-01-2009, 09:06 PM
Dithering around again?
I fail to see how anyone would take your recommendation given what you have posted.

Blam
15-01-2009, 09:56 PM
huh?

qazwsxokmijn
15-01-2009, 10:28 PM
Hey blam6. Recently a moron pulled out of my auction after winning it. It was for a Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570. You can have it for $160, $20 less than what I was offering on trademe. PM me if you want it.

Here was my auction, complete with description of extras and photos:
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=195575139

As for PSU I'd go for Corsair, as the Antec one is a TruePower, which uses lesser quality components than the Antec NeoPower/NeoHE series or the Corsair 650W.

Blam
15-01-2009, 11:34 PM
I've decided to go for a 650w neopower for 153 bucks

PM sent

memphis
16-01-2009, 04:07 AM
PSU:Corsair 620W HX Modular would be what I would go for.

Blam
16-01-2009, 12:39 PM
Why so? Getting it this weekend

memphis
16-01-2009, 01:29 PM
PSU:Corsair 620W HX Modular would be what I would go for.

Because it has good reviews.

Because it has good spec's.

Because it comes from a good company that has a good rep.

Alot of case modders use it because it is modular - only plug in the cables you need to use and so is nice and clean/tidy looking and the cables are flat and easy to hide in the case and allows more airflow in the case because spare cables that are not needed,you dont have to plug them into the psu.

:thumbs::)

wratterus
16-01-2009, 01:49 PM
+1 for the aurora, very nice cases.

Blam
16-01-2009, 01:52 PM
So the Corsair one is better?

The Neopower is modular too

memphis
16-01-2009, 02:01 PM
Do a google on both of them and compare the specs.

Do a google on them for reviews.

Check out pictures of them,see what they look like,see which one you like the most.

Have a look at websites were people like to show off their computers and see what they look like in a case.

:thumbs::)

Blam
16-01-2009, 02:13 PM
Ok thanks memphis.

I've decided to stick with the Neopower due to my budget.

Thanks
Blam

memphis
16-01-2009, 02:48 PM
Sweet as man!!!:)

It's a good one anyway being modular as well,and a known brand name with a good rep.:thumbs:

Blam
16-01-2009, 03:06 PM
Hey memphis, just one more question, what clock speeds do you reckon I'll get to with the E8400 with an Arctic Freezer Pro 7 that I'm getting off qazwsxokmijn for around 35 bucks.

Cheers:D
Blam

memphis
16-01-2009, 04:59 PM
Depends on a few things:

1. Is the E8400 a EO stepping?

2. What thermal paste are you going to use?

3. How cool you can keep the cpu while doing the overclock?

4. The motherboard,how good it is for overclocking as well?

5. Ram will it hold you back?

If everything is sweet 4 Ghz MAYBE MORE!!!You might/may need a better HSF to get to 4 Ghz or more though and remember not everyone can get the same overclocks as others can even if they have similiar set ups there could be somthing holding someone back for some unknown reason!!!

Have a look at the Thermalright range of cpu hsf if you need too.

Also make sure you have good airflow in the case to get rid of the heat from around the cpu and also check the temperature in the bios as well.

Also check the temperture of your northbridge as it will get hotter as well when you overclock and have a look in the bios for its temperature and also carefuly touch the northbridge with your finger - be careful you might BURN your self it can get really,really hot.
If it is real hot like you dont want to touch it then you need to look at getting a good northbridge heatsink.Have a look at the Thermalright Northbridge heatsinks they are pretty good and get some air on the northbridge to cool it down.

Also get a fan to cool your ram as well.
Read as much as you can before you start then you know what to do and what could go wrong and what other people have been through and done etc.

Check this out:http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=UTF-8&fr=opera3&p=e8400+overclocking+guide&rs=0&fr2=rs-top

Be careful you dont ruin anything!!!;):D:thumbs:

Blam
16-01-2009, 05:32 PM
Depends on a few things:

1. Is the E8400 a EO stepping?

2. What thermal paste are you going to use?

3. How cool you can keep the cpu while doing the overclock?

4. The motherboard,how good it is for overclocking as well?

5. Ram will it hold you back?

If everything is sweet 4 Ghz MAYBE MORE!!!You might/may need a better HSF to get to 4 Ghz or more though and remember not everyone can get the same overclocks as others can even if they have similiar set ups there could be somthing holding someone back for some unknown reason!!!

Have a look at the Thermalright range of cpu hsf if you need too.

Also make sure you have good airflow in the case to get rid of the heat from around the cpu and also check the temperature in the bios as well.

Also check the temperture of your northbridge as it will get hotter as well when you overclock and have a look in the bios for its temperature and also carefuly touch the northbridge with your finger - be careful you might BURN your self it can get really,really hot.
If it is real hot like you dont want to touch it then you need to look at getting a good northbridge heatsink.Have a look at the Thermalright Northbridge heatsinks they are pretty good and get some air on the northbridge to cool it down.

Also get a fan to cool your ram as well.
Read as much as you can before you start then you know what to do and what could go wrong and what other people have been through and done etc.

Check this out:http://search.yahoo.com/search?ei=UTF-8&fr=opera3&p=e8400+overclocking+guide&rs=0&fr2=rs-top

Be careful you dont ruin anything!!!;):D:thumbs:

1.Yes

2.TBH I don't know, cause I don't have any. Where can I get some?

3. I'm gonna use an Arctic freezer pro7

4.P5Q

5.OCZ 2gbx2 DDR2 800 CL5

Thanks
Blam

qazwsxokmijn
16-01-2009, 05:42 PM
I reckon you'd get 3.6GHz. Maybe 4GHz if you're lucky/don't mind it getting a bit hot.