PDA

View Full Version : at my wits end here



tomnickles
07-01-2009, 06:04 PM
OK. My laptop, which is a dell latitude 120L, I can not connect to the internet through a browser. Not wirelessly or through a cable. When i try to connect it says "The Connection was reset". as an error message.

HOWEVER, I can still play Final Fantasy 11, an online mmo. I can still use thunderbird to check my email. Windows wont download updates, Java wont download updates, but a few add-ons for firefox will update. It will check and see that they need updates but only better gmail2 updates. The rest wont. I have not messed with anything. I do not know what to do lol.

The last thing I remember doing before all this happened was disable appleupdater thing from loading on startup.

Anyone know of ANYTHING that could block my browsers but not my mmo?
Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
07-01-2009, 06:08 PM
Have you scanned for malware / viruses?

Download malwarebytes, if u can (http://dw.com.com/redir?edId=3&siteId=4&oId=3001-8022_4-10804572&ontId=8022_4&spi=9f5af2e6ff58efed58751b69fbd41910&lop=txt&tag=idl2&pid=10995429&mfgId=6290020&merId=6290020&pguid=WsfCEwoPjAEAADnGApkAAADd&destUrl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.malwarebytes.org%2Fmbam%2 Fprogram%2Fmbam-setup.exe) then do a scan

Greven
07-01-2009, 06:20 PM
Check your LAN settings in the connections tab of Internet Explorer's settings. You might have some malware that has set up a proxy - sometimes anti-virus software removes the malware, but leaves the proxy settings (which will result in IE not being able to access the internet, and anything that doesn't rely on Internet Explorer's settings will be able to access the internet)

jwil1
07-01-2009, 06:28 PM
Does another web browser work (eg Firefox (http://getfirefox.com))?

Which firewall (if any) are you using?

feersumendjinn
07-01-2009, 06:47 PM
This laptop using Vista?
Have you tried running Vista's Network Diagnostics (Control Panel>Network And Sharing Centre>Diagnose And Repair), is supposed to reset the Winsock settings.

Also try the suggestions here
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/forums/en-US/itprovistaie/thread/6636c784-4f1a-4a7e-94d9-d331b3dc97d7/

If using XP, download Winsockfix (http://majorgeeks.com/download4372.html).

tomnickles
07-01-2009, 08:36 PM
ok I should have added more info sorry.

I'm using Windows xp.
I no browsers will connect at all.
I dont use IE, Firefox and Chrome both a no go.
I had comodo firewall and i thought that was the problem so I uninstalled it.
Simple windows builtin firewall now.

Speedy Gonzales
07-01-2009, 08:44 PM
Did malwarebytes remove anything??

If it didnt get trojan remover, update it then scan (http://www.simplysup2.com/download/dl/trjsetup675.exe)

Then select all options under utilities

Can you click on these?? Theyre direct links

wainuitech
07-01-2009, 09:36 PM
Did you check what Greven posted in number 3 ??

To do this - go to control Panel / Internet Options / Connections Tab / Lan Settings, make sure These here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/proxy.jpg) are not set, they should be blank / Unticked - as shown in a normal house hold setup.

tomnickles
07-01-2009, 09:43 PM
Malware said nothing was there
LAN proxys were blank.

I shall try the trojan now.