PDA

View Full Version : Cannot connect to Internet



lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 03:49 PM
Hi guys,
I have looked through other threads and can't see exactly what I want so here goes.

I have a friend's Toshiba laptop and have been cleaning it out for her. It is connected wirelessly to my router but neither IE or FF will connect to the internet.

At her house she is connected to xtra bb via adsl modem. Any help appreciated.

Cheers LL

stormdragon
28-12-2008, 03:51 PM
What's the OS?

Any error messages come up when attempting to connect?

Safari
28-12-2008, 04:37 PM
Could be a firewall problem.

Is the wireless LAN set to obtain IP and DNS automatically.

Corrupted winsock files.
In command prompt type: netsh winsock reset catalog
Enter and reboot

lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 09:24 PM
OS is Win XP Home SP3. Comodo firewall, LAN is set to obtain IP and DNS automatically.
Done cmd prompt, just rebooting will let you know.

LL

lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 09:29 PM
No luck with that, browser still comes up with Address not found :crying

LL

lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 09:37 PM
Here is HJT of computer.
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 9:33:33 PM, on 12/28/2008
Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16762)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\brsvc01a.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\brss01a.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\acs.exe
C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\ConfigFree\CFSvcs.exe
C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cmdagent.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\DVDRAMSV.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\LogiShrd\LVCOMSER\LVComSer.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\TOSHIBA Applet\TAPPSRV.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\AGRSMMSG.exe
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\System32\DLA\DLACTRLW.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\TPSMain.exe
C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Album Starter Edition\3.2\Apps\apdproxy.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\LogiShrd\LComMgr\Communications_Helper.exe
C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cfp.exe
C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\TOSCDSPD\toscdspd.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\TPSBattM.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://hosting.conduit.com/Uninstall?toolbarid=&version=4.5.188.7&uid=
O3 - Toolbar: Windows Live Toolbar - {BDAD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live Toolbar\msntb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: P2P Energy Toolbar - {2bae58c2-79f9-45d1-a286-81f911301c3a} - C:\Program Files\P2P_Energy\tbP2P0.dll (file missing)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AGRSMMSG] AGRSMMSG.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DLA] C:\WINDOWS\System32\DLA\DLACTRLW.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TPSMain] TPSMain.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CFSServ.exe] CFSServ.exe -NoClient
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PaperPort PTD] C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\PaperPort\pptd40nt.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Photo Downloader] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Album Starter Edition\3.2\Apps\apdproxy.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogitechCommunicationsManager] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\LogiShrd\LComMgr\Communications_Helper.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [COMODO Firewall Pro] "C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cfp.exe" -h
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [TOSCDSPD] C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\TOSCDSPD\toscdspd.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Blog This - {219C3416-8CB2-491a-A3C7-D9FCDDC9D600} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Writer\WriterBrowserExtension.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Blog This in Windows Live Writer - {219C3416-8CB2-491a-A3C7-D9FCDDC9D600} - C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Writer\WriterBrowserExtension.dll
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99f7-4bb4-88d8-fa1d4f56a2ab} (YInstStarter Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yinsthelper.dll
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{8B555E39-8AFA-47EE-9B1D-3A196BFAFB03}: NameServer = 192.168.1.1
O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
O20 - AppInit_DLLs: C:\WINDOWS\system32\guard32.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: !SASWinLogon - C:\Program Files\SUPERAntiSpyware\SASWINLO.dll
O23 - Service: Atheros Configuration Service (ACS) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\acs.exe
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: BrSplService (Brother XP spl Service) - brother Industries Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\system32\brsvc01a.exe
O23 - Service: ConfigFree Service (CFSvcs) - TOSHIBA CORPORATION - C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\ConfigFree\CFSvcs.exe
O23 - Service: COMODO Firewall Pro Helper Service (cmdAgent) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\COMODO\Firewall\cmdagent.exe
O23 - Service: DVD-RAM_Service - Matsu****a Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\DVDRAMSV.exe
O23 - Service: LVCOMSer - Logitech Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LogiShrd\LVCOMSER\LVComSer.exe
O23 - Service: LVSrvLauncher - Logitech Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\LogiShrd\SrvLnch\SrvLnch.exe
O23 - Service: TOSHIBA Application Service (TAPPSRV) - TOSHIBA Corp. - C:\Program Files\TOSHIBA\TOSHIBA Applet\TAPPSRV.exe

--
End of file - 6038 bytes

beama
28-12-2008, 09:53 PM
is the firewall blocking because this is a new network to it therefore your network has to put in trusted zone
can you ping google.com

beama
28-12-2008, 09:59 PM
just had a look at hijack this log and noticed configfree was running
Check the profiles in configfree she may have one setup to use a proxy and iif she is using this profile............. to change profiless just left click on the other profile

lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 10:04 PM
Hi beama thank you for reply. Can you please explain how to ping Google?

Firefox is in trusted zone, will check out IE. How do I get into configfree to see proxy and profiles?
LL

Safari
28-12-2008, 10:07 PM
Are you sure it is connecting to your router and you have Windows wireless zero configuration enabled.

Do they have email setup on a mail client, see if that is working.

When you say you cleaned it out what did you actually do.

beama
28-12-2008, 10:14 PM
go to start run type in "cmd" (without quotes) press enter, type in, "ping www.google.com" (without quotes)
if every thing goes well you should get 4 replies if not I would like you to type in "ipconfig /All" and post back the following ip address for that machine and the ip that corresponds to the gateway tag

Safari
28-12-2008, 10:28 PM
Why not connect by ethernet cable to confirm whether it is a wireless problem or something else on the laptop causing the problem

lakewoodlady
28-12-2008, 10:32 PM
Hi Safari,
Yes Wireless zero config is enabled. No Email client configured so I cant test that (she has a Hotmail account)
I ran Malwarebytes and cleanear and superantispyware, 13 malware things found, 20 spyware found, these were fixed and/or quarantined.

Beama, I will try pining google tomorrow, too tired now catch you then.

Cheers LL

Speedy Gonzales
28-12-2008, 11:02 PM
Did Comodo pick up the network, and bring up a window. So you could allow it?

I would give this laptop an ip under its LAN properties. And point it to your router's IP.

And in the DNS servers put in your ISP's IP addresses

Renmoo
28-12-2008, 11:16 PM
Try connecting to the router using another computer and see if the Internet access is made available. If you can access the world wide web, it means you have misconfigured or left out some important configurations on the Toshiba laptop.

You can also check whether DNS is at fault by pinging these entries on separate occasions:

ping www.google.com and ping 209.85.173.99

If there are replies for the latter entry but not the former, it means that the DNS settings are not correctly specified.

Good luck :)

lakewoodlady
29-12-2008, 11:22 AM
Hi Beama,
"ping request could not find host www.google.com Check the name and try again"
That is what I got from cmd ping etc
When I put in ipconfig/All it comes up with:
IP Address.......................192.168.1.5
Default Gateway...............192.168.1.1

LL

Speedy Gonzales
29-12-2008, 11:26 AM
Double click on the laptop's LAN icon / properties.

Then TCP/IP. Under DNS server put in your ISP's DNS server IP addresses

If youre with Xnet, put 58.28.4.2 in for preferred

58.28.6.2 for alternate

Renmoo
29-12-2008, 11:26 AM
Hi Beama,
"ping request could not find host www.google.com Check the name and try again"
Now try ping 209.85.173.99

Safari
29-12-2008, 11:31 AM
Or just put 209.85.173.99 in the address bar of the browser and see if Google loads.

wainuitech
29-12-2008, 11:35 AM
Double click on the laptop's LAN icon / properties.

Then TCP/IP. Under DNS server put in your ISP's DNS server IP addresses

If youre with Xnet, put 58.28.4.2 in for preferred

58.28.6.2 for alternate Adding on from what Speedy wrote - if that doesn't work, try setting the DNS Server to Obtain automatically - the router is issuing the DNS server address, and if the Laptop says it wants a different one it will go nowhere.

What ever you change make sure you write it down so you can change it back, other wise your friend may not be able to get on back at home.

beama
29-12-2008, 11:54 AM
Could still be firewall, I think LL said it was running Comodo, doesn't that have trusted zones and if this laptop has just been put on another wireless network that wireless network wont be in the trusted zone.

you could try disabling not uninstalling comodo

Speedy you would know, I haven't used Comodo in quit a while

Speedy Gonzales
29-12-2008, 12:03 PM
Im not using Comodo at the mo, but I would say if it picked up the wireless or a network.

A window should have popped up, asking to allow or deny it

lakewoodlady
29-12-2008, 12:09 PM
Hey all you guys, thanks so much for all your help, it is now working ok after ticking the buttons that say obtain IP and DNS automatically.
that is strange too as I thought I had tried that yesterday and it didn't work. Comodo popped up and ask for permission to connect to network and so it is all go now.
So I will soon have it running sweetly for my friend. You won't believe this, but her laptop has only 192 MB RAM! She will definitely have to get more for it.

Many thanks once again. Cheers LL :clap:clap:clap

Safari
29-12-2008, 12:29 PM
OS is Win XP Home SP3. Comodo firewall, LAN is set to obtain IP and DNS automatically.
Done cmd prompt, just rebooting will let you know.

LL

You were probably checking the Local area connection and not the wireless one.

Renmoo
29-12-2008, 09:09 PM
I had a similar problem the other day. My friend's laptop could load most websites except for Fa(e)ce(s)book and Hotmail when the DNS entries were assigned 208.67.222.222 as the primary DNS server and 208.67.220.220 as the secondary DNS server IP addresses. However, when the adaptor was instructed to acquire the DNS addresses automatically, both Facebook and Hotmail managed to load successfully.

Cheers :)