PDA

View Full Version : Where is the HDMI port?



pcuser7895
07-12-2008, 10:42 AM
:confused:
my graphics card is a ATi Radeon HD 2400PRO( or an  asus) ,
i never considered about HDMI because i don't use  it but 
why is there no HDMI port?:confused:

I have a theory that my motherboard doesn't suppor t it but 
then why is this whole lot of HD stuff installed w hen i bought it(second hand)?
( don't ask me what my motherboard model is i don' t know)

gary67
07-12-2008, 11:02 AM
Why is your post all screwed up like this? The HD stuff probably came with some other software. I use Burnaware free for burning CD's DVD's and it installs Bluray burning stuff too yet I don't have Bluray it's just part of the software

Blam
07-12-2008, 11:06 AM
It says on ati's website, that your GFX card supports DVI>HDMI, you can do that instead.
Most burning software these days have support for blu-ray etc, but it doesn't mean you have a blu-ray drive.

pcuser7895
07-12-2008, 11:06 AM
i don't no about the bad font but this pc was cost um built by the university.

pcuser7895
07-12-2008, 11:08 AM
sorry about the badly written question, but my que stion is why isn't there a HDMIport at the back

Blam
07-12-2008, 11:27 AM
Because your Video card doesn't have that port. Simple

As I said, just get a DVI>HDMI cable

pcuser7895
07-12-2008, 11:41 AM
if i do that will it still be in HD?

Speedy Gonzales
07-12-2008, 01:00 PM
Unless the card and monitor support HD, then no it wont be HD

Morgenmuffel
07-12-2008, 04:52 PM
Ok how do you get that gibberish, as occasionally sites i go to may have one of those gibberish characters appear in normal block of text

Blam
07-12-2008, 09:07 PM
if i do that will it still be in HD?

Yes-DVI and HDMI have exactly the same quality -image wise
HDMI just carries both audio and video while DVI carries just video.
And they have they same encoding scheme.

Your monitor will need to be able to display HD though, what's the res?