PDA

View Full Version : New mobo, New case: Front-panel wiring?



jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:04 PM
I just got a new mobo (ibm kinda thing, dont ask for the model number haha cos i dont know) and a new atx case. so now i am trying to figure out the front panel connectors for:
1- USB
2- Audio
3- hdd,power led's; power,reset button

So firstly as for 1, i thing (hope) i have got this but the mobo has a single connector:
. . . .
. . . . .
and the front panel connectors are 2 of these:
. . . .
and a single pin connector.
so i just put each usb jack in the mobo and the single ground connector on the end.

2nd- audio - on the front panel, the connector is a standard 9 pin:
. . . . .
. . . . the missing pin is blocked with some plastic thing
but on the mobo there is no connecotr like that. there is an 11pin "com2" jack on the mobo right next to the rear audio output:
. . . . . .
. . . . .
also there is another unknown connector on the mobo that says A_F_PNL:
1 . . . . . . . . . . 19
2 . . . . . . . . . . 20
and there are 2 sets or couplers on pins 3 and 5; and on pins 7 and 9.


had enough yet?
3- the front panel hdd and power LED's and the power and reset buttons
on the mobo there is a single connector of a single row of 8 pins:
. . . . . . . .
and the case wires have individual connectors for each function:
HDD LED:
. .
Power LED+:
.
Power LED-:
.
Power button:
. .
Reset Button:
. .


incase it matters, i also noticed a place on the mobo with soldered dots and a square around it as tho it could have pin connector put on it its labeled:
F_PANEL1
and looks like this:
. . . . . . .
. . . . . .


so yea...what do i do?

Jaree

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 06:11 PM
The hdd ide / power ide / sound / reset wires are pretty straightforward

Look in the mobo manual. The header for these are usually labelled as well

Is the USB connector from the front in one block??

Or separate connectors / wires??

And what about the audio is the front connector, one connector or 4-5 different / separate wires??

For the audio, it'll be connected like one of these (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/audio.gif)

Unless it supports HD Audio which is wired and labelled differently

The A_F Panel header, is for the audio (headphone/mic) for the front of the case

Make sure you connect the USB from the front of the case to the right pins on the header, on the mobo (http://www.frontx.com/cpx101_2.html)

Also, if his mobo has firewire, DONT connect USB connections to it, you'll fry the mobo

jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:19 PM
i dont have a mobo manual.
there are 2 usb ports at the front and each one has a 4 pin block, theyre not seperate.
but each usb connector is seperate ie 2 of these:
. . . .
and then theres and extra single ground pin.
as for the audio, it is all in one block as in my first post.

jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:20 PM
its the mobo that has a different audio connector, the front panel wires are all in one connector block.

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 06:28 PM
If the audio is one block follow the pic I posted

To the AF Panel (it maybe called AAFP), from the front of the case.

The USB header, has 8 or 9 pins (or should have) 5 pins on top 4 on the bottom.

That USB connector from the front SHOULD be labelled. Put the GND connector on pin 4 on both set of pins..

The 5th pin on the top row isnt used.

So, its like this

Top row 1 +5 2 USB- 3 USB 4 GND 5 Not used
Bottom 1 +5 2 USB- 3 USB- 4 GND

Just as long as the USB blocks are labelled and you put GND on pin 4, it should be right

The model brand of the mobo should be etched on it. What is it?? It cant be that new if it doesnt have a manual

jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:42 PM
i dont know i got it off trademe. apparantly some guy built it but not sure.
ok i get what youre saying about the usb but what about the extra ground wire coming from the front panel? where do i put that? maybe i could just attach it to the chassis?

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 06:47 PM
If the ground wire is part of the USB connectors, dont worry about it.

Leave it off, its just a spare

Since both blocks of the US connectors, have GND on them

What are the labels on the audio?? What do some of them say??

jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:50 PM
ok, so what about the audio? it is one block on the front panel connector but where do i plug it in on the mobo?

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 06:53 PM
What do the labels say on the audio connector??

MIC IN , MIC BIAS, Auddio right / left.

Or Port1L, Presense ??

jareemon
05-12-2008, 06:56 PM
it just says audio but its the standard 9 pin plug:
. . . . .
. . . .

jareemon
05-12-2008, 07:02 PM
that didnt come out right its like this
first row has 5 pins
then the second row has 3 pins then a gap then one pin

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 07:09 PM
Hmm well it should only go one way

On both AC97 and HD Audio the pins are like this

...blank.
...blank. on the top set of pins

And the bottom
.....
.....

So the only way to find out which way it goes is the hole (on the audio connector) thats doesnt have a wire in it goes to pin 4 on the top set of pins

jareemon
05-12-2008, 07:15 PM
what i mean is, the jack on the mobo for audio is like 2 rows of 10 pins...
atleast i THINK thats the audio jack. the only other one is a jack with 6pins at the top and 5 pins at the bottom
......
.....

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 07:22 PM
Audio only has 2 rows of 5 . 5 on the top 5 underneath

I have no idea what this row of 10 x 2 is

It'd be easier to see if its got the brand and the model of this motherboard, etched (maybe) between the PCI slots. If its got PCI slots.

So, we know what it is

The only thing that may have 2 rows of 10 is the power connector on the mobo?

kersonan
05-12-2008, 07:39 PM
this might help you ID the motherboard

http://www.pcnineoneone.com/howto/moboid1.html

Speedy Gonzales
05-12-2008, 08:21 PM
The 10x2 connector maybe the system panel connector too if it looks like this

Power LED + Power LED - o o o o oooo (last 4 pins are for a speaker)
o o

Hdd LED + HD LED - ooo (power - oo) o (reset - oo)

jareemon
05-12-2008, 10:22 PM
ok ive sussed out the leds and power button sockets, and the usb. that just leaves the audio. would a pci sound card have an ac97 socket on it?

Speedy Gonzales
06-12-2008, 05:46 AM
ok ive sussed out the leds and power button sockets, and the usb. that just leaves the audio. would a pci sound card have an ac97 socket on it?

No

AC97 is usually onboard / part of a mobo

You wouldnt need AC97 on a PCI soundcard, it'd replace an onboard soundcard.

Just plug the PCI card in. Once windows is installed, you would have to install the drivers for it. Then you have sound

BUT if it doesn't have connections for the front panel, (most dont), you wont have sound at the front of the case.

You would have to disable the onboard sound, in the BIOS

SolMiester
06-12-2008, 09:31 AM
this might help you ID the motherboard

http://www.pcnineoneone.com/howto/moboid1.html

+1, then download the manual