PDA

View Full Version : wireless signal



rocco
05-12-2008, 03:11 PM
a friend of mine has a broadband modem connected to his older desktop set up in the office..he also has a wireless laptop that picks the signal no problem around the house.
But outside in the granny flat the signal is almost non existant due to the fact..i think that a heavy brick chimney is in direct line between the office and the granny flat..any suggestions in how to improve the signal apart from knocking the old thick chimney!!...the distance to the flat is no problem as the signal is quite strong a few metres outside the flat in the garden!!

wratterus
05-12-2008, 03:14 PM
Is it possible to move the wireless router around and test the signal strength? Maybe it's a case for a range extender.

Also bear in mind it could potentially be an appliance or something in the flat thats causing the issue.

DeSade
05-12-2008, 03:14 PM
Its more likely to be electrical, as in wires in the walls rather than the brick.

Also I had problems with my signal passing through our kitchen, flicked off the microwave and that sorted that.

Dragonslayer
09-12-2008, 11:02 AM
a friend of mine has a broadband modem connected to his older desktop set up in the office..he also has a wireless laptop that picks the signal no problem around the house.
But outside in the granny flat the signal is almost non existant due to the fact..i think that a heavy brick chimney is in direct line between the office and the granny flat..any suggestions in how to improve the signal apart from knocking the old thick chimney!!...the distance to the flat is no problem as the signal is quite strong a few metres outside the flat in the garden!!

In the past I have used either of these products to fix my clients wireless issues:

1. A pair of Home Plugs (uses the power point to network devices). They are fantastic because they are so easy to set up. http://www.dynalink.co.nz/cms/index.php?page=np285-homeplug-twin-pack and there is also a wireless one http://www.dynalink.co.nz/cms/index.php?page=np290w-wireless-homeplug

2. An outdoor AP like this, gives huge range. I have set these up for a customer that owned a golf course. They wanted to Wifi access: http://www.dynalink.co.nz/cms/index.php?page=wireless-outdoor-access-point

3. A signal booster like this: http://www.dynalink.co.nz/cms/index.php?page=np562-indoor-wireless-booster although you need to be careful not to exceed the legal limits.

Chilling_Silence
09-12-2008, 05:16 PM
Only thing is at $350 & $150 a pop for the two dynalink wireless products specified (Not talking about HomePlug here), if you're OK with flashing a routers firmware, try this thread:
http://pressf1.co.nz/showthread.php?t=95472

Repeater-Bridge with a $50 router is a fair whack cheaper ;)

The HomePlugs are nice, but at around $180 for the pair, again its cheaper to use the wireless, plus its nicer not having to plug a Laptop in via LAN Cable :)