PDA

View Full Version : Removing a pin from a monitor



herzeis
04-12-2008, 03:24 PM
I bought some time ago a Compaq Presario 850, which was working fine until a month ago.

The old PC has the 9th pin blocked, which new monitors have. Could I just cut off this pin in a new monitor? I understand the 9th pin is just a key pin, so there should not be any problem, but I am still a little afraid of doing this.

Any comments appreciatted,
George.

SolMiester
04-12-2008, 03:40 PM
Rather you than I.....:horrified

wratterus
04-12-2008, 03:42 PM
The new monitor, does it have a built in vga cable or a seperate one?

If its built in, i'd be very wary. if its just a seperate cable, go nuts. $10 or $15 for a new cable, Or maybe buy an extension and cut the pin out of that, cause that way the monitor cable will stay the same, and if you want to use it on a new PC, remove the extension and the monitor's as good as new again. :thumbs:

After thinking about that, thats probably the better idea. :p

PENTIUM
04-12-2008, 04:25 PM
My practice is to drill out the blocked hole so that the pin will enter.

Graham L
04-12-2008, 05:26 PM
Pin 9 is used now for a +5V supply from the video card. This is associated with the I2C data bus for the Display Data Channel, but as far as I know it's not essential -- the card provides pullups on the data and clock lines.

I agree: modify an extension cord, or add a hole to the socket if you have the equipment.

beeswax34
04-12-2008, 05:33 PM
What on Earth is the poll for?

GameJunkie
04-12-2008, 05:39 PM
What on Earth is the poll for?

x2