PDA

View Full Version : Telecom, Xtra websites down - DNS also



Agent_24
29-11-2008, 12:16 AM
Currently using OpenDNS as xtra's DNS aren't working.. try to go to xtra.co.nz or telecom.co.nz and OpenDNS reports them as down also :stare:

Anyone know anything or is this just somehow only affecting me?

robbyp
29-11-2008, 12:22 AM
Currently using OpenDNS as xtra's DNS aren't working.. try to go to xtra.co.nz or telecom.co.nz and OpenDNS reports them as down also :stare:

Anyone know anything or is this just somehow only affecting me?

Yes they are down

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/telecom.co.nz

Huh? doesn't look like a site on the interwho.

stu161204
29-11-2008, 12:38 AM
Yep, Telecom / Xtra DNS servers, website, broadband has been offline since about 9 pm & we have only just been able to get back on to Telecom broadband at around about 11:30 pm.

Here is a thread on Geekzone about Telecom / Xtra been offline:
http://www.geekzone.co.nz/forums.asp?ForumId=39&TopicId=28412

GP Forums: http://www.gpforums.co.nz/thread/335131/?s=

Zippity
29-11-2008, 01:22 AM
Ihug too, has been tossing its toys out of the cot for the last 30 minutes :(

Speedy Gonzales
29-11-2008, 07:29 AM
Sounds like Xnet, they were down last night. About 10 I think

Got on today about 1/4 to 6 am it was still down. Till just before / after 6 today

pcuser42
29-11-2008, 08:13 AM
The PC World homepage is also down.

Hmmm....

kersonan
29-11-2008, 08:26 AM
Def a major fault, I didnt see any outage notifications or scheduled work for last night. this was totally out of the blue.

Still trying to find out whats happened.

Nermal
29-11-2008, 08:30 AM
Well, this would explain why I can't get to Telecom's site :)

Internet connection itself is fine here (TelstraClear) but a friend on Xtra texted me last night and asked whether I could get online. It all makes sense now!

Sweep
29-11-2008, 09:04 AM
They now say that they are upgrading their system from 0800 to 1400.

http://www.telecom.co.nz

Safari
29-11-2008, 09:10 AM
They now say that they are upgrading their system from 0800 to 1400.

http://www.telecom.co.nz

Yeah right - You don't have to disable your website to do an upgrade.

kersonan
29-11-2008, 09:56 AM
Browser :(

linw
29-11-2008, 11:07 AM
Anyone else lost the smtp xtra server? I am now getting an error 10060.

PENTIUM
29-11-2008, 11:50 AM
Yes, and their grizzle lines are jammed too.

linw
29-11-2008, 11:58 AM
Ta. I never bother to ring them as there are plenty that will do it for me!

GameJunkie
29-11-2008, 12:08 PM
The PC World homepage is also down.

Hmmm....


x2

very frustrating, be worse if it was the PressF1 forum:D

gary67
29-11-2008, 01:13 PM
x2

very frustrating, be worse if it was the PressF1 forum:D

X3

GameJunkie
29-11-2008, 01:36 PM
still not working....................

gary67
29-11-2008, 05:09 PM
and still down 5.10pm

Blam
29-11-2008, 05:12 PM
Is anyone having crawling speeds with Xtra?
Even images are taking forever to load.

GameJunkie
29-11-2008, 05:16 PM
it does appear to be slow loading back into the forum from pages like this....

stu161204
29-11-2008, 05:59 PM
still not working....................

What’s not working Telecom website??, I could get to it fine early on this afternoon, but I cant at the moment....


it does appear to be slow loading back into the forum from pages like this....

It looks like computerworld.co.nz, pcworld.co.nz and fairfaxbm.co.nz are currently offline…..

So a lot of the images on PF1 will not be loading…


Is anyone having crawling speeds with Xtra?

I can’t say for sure, as I am unsure if it’s Go Large, the DNS servers I am using (Maxnet) or if it is xtra.....


Even images are taking forever to load.

Do you means here on PressF1 or everywhere???

beeswax34
29-11-2008, 07:19 PM
Yeah right - You don't have to disable your website to do an upgrade.

Haha! Tell that to Apple.

GameJunkie
01-12-2008, 09:39 AM
got this email from some guy at fairfax,

The PC World site should be accessible now. A problem at one of the central
Auckland exchanges knocked out broadband coverage over the weekend and
probably affected our servers as well. Everything should hopefully be back
to normal now but let me know if you're still experiencing problems.

Blam
01-12-2008, 04:41 PM
Weird...for the last 2 days I haven't been able to access Pf1

GameJunkie
01-12-2008, 04:46 PM
same here

Speedy Gonzales
01-12-2008, 04:47 PM
Probably because the forum was dead till today

Nermal
01-12-2008, 10:06 PM
Forum's been up and running all weekend for me (and obviously for everyone else that posted!)

Agent_24
01-12-2008, 11:28 PM
That's odd, it didn't work for me for a while