PDA

View Full Version : Repair Install XP Home



Blam
21-11-2008, 08:25 PM
My friend has OEM XP home installed and his sound isn't working.
I've tried reinstalling realtek drivers but nothings worked so far.
I've decided to do a repair install, but do I need to re-enter the license key? If so, will the OEM key work? Also, what stuff is resetted and what stuff stays the same?

Thanks:)
Blam

Speedy Gonzales
21-11-2008, 08:36 PM
He'll have to find out what the brand/model of the system or the mobo is.

I dont think a repair install will do anything, if he's reinstalled / done a clean install. He'll have to find the drivers for the chipset / LAN and sound

Usually you have to install the chipset drivers before anything else

CYaBro
21-11-2008, 08:42 PM
Before you go doing a repair install are you sure have the correct drivers?
I've seen a few machines that have had sound drivers installed and everything looks OK in the Device Manager etc but there is no sound.
Finding the correct drivers has fixed it.
Sometimes they have had realtek drivers installed but needed VIA sound drivers or C-Media.

wainuitech
21-11-2008, 08:47 PM
Ditto to what's been mentioned above - open the case and see what the make and model of the mother board is, or if its a name brand PC (will still be OEM) whats the make/model ?

Blam
21-11-2008, 11:37 PM
Its a HP Pavilion 544a

feersumendjinn
21-11-2008, 11:56 PM
Try this
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01427349&lc=en&dlc=&cc=us&product=325136&rule=29299&lang=

Blam
22-11-2008, 04:07 PM
I have-google is my friend:D

Still didn't work though:(

Speedy Gonzales
22-11-2008, 04:23 PM
Did you install the chipset drivers first / as well?

It the sound still doesnt want to go, is it enabled in the BIOS??

Is it set to the default sound in sounds and audio devices / audio tab??

Blam
22-11-2008, 04:47 PM
What do you mean by chipset drivers?

I'll check if its installed in bios.

The user told me today that he had accidentally uninstalled something under device manager.

Yes, it is

Speedy Gonzales
22-11-2008, 04:49 PM
Most systems have chipset drivers / or inf drivers.

And you HAVE to install them before anything else (straight after a clean install, and before you install the LAN / sound / whatever)

Anything with a ? in device manager now?

gary67
22-11-2008, 05:02 PM
Have a look here (http://www.soundcard-drivers.com/companies/456.htm) Blam see if you can find the relevant audio driver

Blam
22-11-2008, 05:20 PM
Nope, nothing with a ? in device manager (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/untitled1227327618.jpg)

Didn't find an appropriate driver gary, thanx though:)

Speedy Gonzales
22-11-2008, 05:23 PM
What else appears in sounds and audio devices / audio tab?? Under default device.

Since a modem is installed??

If its not on the soundcard, change it to the soundcard

Whats it say under the floppy since there's an X beside it, is it disabled in the BIOS, if there's no floppy?

It looks like the sound drivers are installed, it maybe set to the wrong default device (it maybe on the modem, (which can happen, if its a fax / voice modem, which will be why there's no sound)

Blam
22-11-2008, 06:54 PM
Its set the Microsoft Synthesizer.

Its the only option.

There is no soundcard option.

He disabled the floppy because the flashing light was annoying him lol.

Speedy Gonzales
22-11-2008, 07:01 PM
Its set the Microsoft Synthesizer.

Hmm there's definitely a prob somewhere then


He disabled the floppy because the flashing light was annoying him lol.

What flashing light?? The LED on the floppy you mean is flashing all the time?

If it is, the floppy cable is connected the wrong way

So, was Audio, enabled in the BIOS??

Blam
22-11-2008, 07:13 PM
Hmm there's definitely a prob somewhere then



What flashing light?? The LED on the floppy you mean is flashing all the time?

If it is, the floppy cable is connected the wrong way

So, was Audio, enabled in the BIOS??

LOL I know there's a problem speedy:p

Yep, it was flashing.
That seems weird cause it wasn't blinking b4 and he had never taken it apart b4, so the cable repositioned itself?

yes, audio was enabled in bios

He has 7 recovery CDs and he might use them if I don't fix it within a week

Speedy Gonzales
22-11-2008, 07:30 PM
It must be one of these (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=228&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=325136)

Altho, it'll probably be better using the recovery cd's, since thats what theyre for. And the sound will probably work

Blam
23-11-2008, 07:57 PM
Nope, no sound drivers there ???

I might do either a repair install or use the recovery discs

Thanks All