PDA

View Full Version : a replacement vid card



curly
19-11-2008, 12:08 AM
I want to replace my present Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS video card with one that supports 3 LCD's. OK if thats too much to ask, I could live with 2 LCD monitors.

My comp is a HP Pavillion desktop, (06260A), running Vista Ultimate. It has 3.25 gig of ram and 4 logical CPU's.

I have already got a power supply of 650 watts in preparation for the change.

Anyone care to nominate a new vid card to suit.

Oh yeah... this card is not for gaming, but for normal office type use, so I guess speed is not a factor.

davidmmac
19-11-2008, 07:58 AM
What sort of price range are you after?

McRuff
19-11-2008, 08:15 AM
Most modern video cards will support 2 LCD displays

3 LCD's will not be cheap only way I know is either

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=351380

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=371199

curly
19-11-2008, 08:32 AM
What sort of price range are you after?

I actually had no idea of the probable price range that would apply, but $600 plus might be a little steep for a 3 head card. Might have to re think. Thanks for reply.

Q man
19-11-2008, 08:34 AM
If your gonna spend that sort of money get a 4850x2 from sapphire

Very fast on graphics and up to four dvi outs

http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?item=VGASAP4852

curly
19-11-2008, 08:36 AM
Thanks McRuff for reply. $600 + a bit high, will look at 2 head cards. Thanks

curly
19-11-2008, 08:39 AM
$900 for a vid card is outa my league. But thanks for the advise anyway.

qazwsxokmijn
19-11-2008, 12:04 PM
Can't you just buy two cheap SLi or Xfire capable cards and link them, so you have up to 4 ports?

utopian201
19-11-2008, 04:03 PM
If i remember correctly, only cross fire lets you use all video outputs. Unless nvidia updated their drivers, with SLI, only the primary graphics card outputs are usable. Or it may have been that only ONE of the outputs on the primary graphics card was usable. But I may be wrong.

curly
19-11-2008, 07:58 PM
Can't you just buy two cheap SLi or Xfire capable cards and link them, so you have up to 4 ports?

Hi, thanks for reply. Presently the computer is sealed,(Its newish), so I do not know what slots or how many are inside. I will open it up this Sunday and have a look round. But your suggestion is certainly interesting.