PDA

View Full Version : AVG Free v 8.00 starts scanning by itself !



Digby
13-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Hi Guys

I have had AVG Free v 8.00 for a few months now.
I think their user interface is now much better.

I leave my PC on 24.7 and set my scheduled scan at 3 am in the morning.

However quite often if I look at the system tray its scanning icon has come up and it is obviously scanning.

When I right click on this icon it says Continue or Stop scanning. If I click on Stop it does not stop, and tre scan takes about 1 hour.

How can I stop this

How can I find out what it is scanning ? eg If I go into the program I cannot see its scanning progress as I do when it starts a scheduled scan or a manual one.

Rob99
13-11-2008, 09:01 AM
http://discussions.virtualdr.com/showpost.php?p=1249361&postcount=6

lakewoodlady
13-11-2008, 09:16 AM
Simple fix, uninstall it and get Avast. Also, there was an article on PC World the other day that said AVG deleted an important dll and then Win XP crashed and the only way to fix it was to put in the XP cd and do a repair!

Cheers LL

Silver_Blade
13-11-2008, 10:22 AM
The best a/v out there ive known and used is NOD32...

GameJunkie
13-11-2008, 10:34 AM
The best a/v out there ive known and used is NOD32...

x2

pctek
13-11-2008, 11:11 AM
One thought - generally if you miss a scheduled scan it will launch as soon as its able to.

gary67
13-11-2008, 11:15 AM
Some if not all AV's will also scan when the comp is idle I know Avast does, although I have switched to Nod32

Digby
13-11-2008, 01:16 PM
Thanks guys

But I did not what is a good replacement anti virus program. I asked how to fix AVG.

I tend to think it is its update program trying to get on to their server which I read is overloaded.

I have used AVG for years and they always have problems with new versions. I know there are other ones out there, but when I check out forums etc they all have problems.

Digby
13-11-2008, 01:17 PM
Some if not all AV's will also scan when the comp is idle I know Avast does, although I have switched to Nod32

That is my point, if it is doing what you say, it should not do, as my settings are just to scan at 3 am and it always does that scan, so it should not try to scan during the day.

Digby
12-12-2008, 05:37 PM
I found out what it was.

I had scheduled a scan to start at 3 am and it was unable to complete it as it had a corrupt scan file, so it looked like on the screen that it was still scanning.

So I have changed to Avast. And have been happy so far.

pcuser42
12-12-2008, 06:39 PM
Some if not all AV's will also scan when the comp is idle I know Avast does, although I have switched to Nod32

I don't think Avast does, although it comes with a screensaver that does.