PDA

View Full Version : Norton 360



taxboy4
09-11-2008, 08:20 PM
Hi there - all my activities including scans with Norton 360 come up canceled when i try and put them into action. Live update works fine - any thoughts?

Speedy Gonzales
09-11-2008, 08:23 PM
You'll probably find that hardly anyone here, uses anything thats made by Norton / Symantec.

Renmoo
09-11-2008, 08:37 PM
It's going to be very hard to find any helpful replies here, taxboy4. Tried reinstallation? Tried the live chatting?

Cheers :)

CCF
09-11-2008, 10:39 PM
Yeah best to uninstall it then go for Avast or AVG or alike. Though your problem does sound like the subscription has expired. If not, then best to uninstall it (and if you really want to) and reinstall it. If you cant uninstall it due to some random error. Try downloading the Uninstaller prog off Norton's site, that should get rid of Norton once and for all.

linw
10-11-2008, 07:52 AM
Yep, heave it. It just takes up too many resources. We speak from experience. Avast is better than AVG, now.

Blam
10-11-2008, 11:13 AM
The new Norton 08 seem's pretty good, detection rates are great and light on memory(finally)

wratterus
10-11-2008, 11:25 AM
The new Norton 08 seem's pretty good, detection rates are great and light on memory(finally)

It's a lot better than all the nortons since 2004.

It's not RAM usage, but CPU. Nortons hardly uses any RAM compared to some others.

Its still far too CPU intensive when doing anything (only doing stuff when the PC is idle is no excuse) and annoying to use.

I'd still take AVG over it. And Avast/NOD32/Kaspersky/Bit Defender over AVG.

wainuitech
10-11-2008, 12:40 PM
While not many people here use Norton products because of the above problems as mentioned, many people still do.

Generally any Norton fix for their programs playing up is to uninstall the product, download and run the Norton Removal Tool (http://service1.symantec.com/Support/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2005033108162039)- then reinstall the software and " Hopefully" it will work - the first line on Symantec's site for the removal tool does not exactly give confidence in their products
Use the Norton Removal Tool to remove a failed installation or a damaged Norton product.

Richard
10-11-2008, 05:42 PM
The only decent Norton was the Dominator. I think it was 500cc. I've never heard of a Norton 360! :):)

GameJunkie
10-11-2008, 05:45 PM
norton doesn't even compare to AV's like nod32

wratterus
10-11-2008, 08:08 PM
Norton 360 compares to NOD32, in the same way a holden barina compares to a Ferrari 360

GameJunkie
10-11-2008, 08:09 PM
good call wratterus:thumbs: