PDA

View Full Version : PC will not record my voice / cannot use VOIP / not picking up mic



Serotonin
08-11-2008, 02:34 PM
Alright for starters.
Windows XP Service Pack 3.
ASUS M2N-SLI Mobo.
C-Media 6501 Like Sound Device.
Integrated sound.

Also, when this problem occured. It has produced an error now when I try to use Sound recorder. Claiming that - "There is not enough availiable memory to complete this operation. Please try closing some programs and try again.

I've provided you with some screen shots of the volume control, properties device manager, and all availiable sound drivers / whatnots.

If you need additional information please let me know.

Some info on when the problem started:
I woke up yesterday morning, installed Left 4 Dead (PC game) Demo.
I tried to use my VOIP (Voice communication) to no avail.
It did not work. I then, worried, chacked my mic, it was not externally muted. It would not regester me saying anything. I then tried sound recorder, same thing. BUT then, the sound recorder problem happened as I will post the msg in my reply.

(This mic works on my laptop so something is wrong on my end)
(Also, I've tried both front and back audio / voice ports.)
(I can hear everything fine, but any application cannot pick up my voice)
(If I unmute the microphone playback, I can hear myself.)



http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/moreinfo.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/moreinfo2.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/moreinfo3.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/moreinfo4.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/problem.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/Volumecontrolaudio.jpg
http://i385.photobucket.com/albums/oo300/Serotriptomine/volumecontrolmic.jpg

Speedy Gonzales
08-11-2008, 02:46 PM
This is what that error means (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/284893)

Altho, its not the same wording, it probably means the same thing

JonB
08-11-2008, 03:42 PM
Sounds like your new software installation could have changed something. One instance I had was after using Audacity to record using Line In setting and not changing it back to Microphone before closing. No way could I get Skype to work even though the Skype settings were correct and nothing wrong showed in Windows Volume Control settings. After ages of playing around I opened Audacity and changed the input setting and all worked OK.
Maybe your Left4dead has changed something in your sound setup.

JonB

Serotonin
08-11-2008, 05:19 PM
I've already tried a system restore 5 days back.
And I've tried un-installing L4D and testing my mic.
Still a no go.

Also.

I've always had 3gbs of RAM, why would that error start poppin up now?