PDA

View Full Version : Does 32 bit software work on 64 bit OS?



sammo450
06-11-2008, 10:15 AM
A friend told me that if I use a 64 bit OS then 32 bit games won't work. Sounds weird to me? If I want more than 2 gigs of RAM I definitely need a 64 bit OS right? Also has anyone got any circuit diagrams for a fan controller?

Thebananamonkey
06-11-2008, 10:26 AM
Yes, they work.

Except for very occasionally.

If you want more than 3.5GB of RAM you might need it. I wouldn't say definitely though.

You can buy fan controllers for not very much.

MAC_H8ER
06-11-2008, 10:28 AM
your friend needs you to smack him around the back of the head with a stick :)

im running windows XP 64bit and all of my games run - not a single one has a problem with 64 bit

they get installed into a folder called "program files (x64)" if they are 32bit and will work as normal

the only trouble you might have is getting 64 bit drivers for your devices but if thats not a problem then you should be ok

stormdragon
06-11-2008, 11:00 AM
they get installed into a folder called "program files (x64)" if they are 32bit and will work as normal

Program Files (x86) not (x64) :thumbs:

MAC_H8ER
06-11-2008, 11:59 AM
Program Files (x86) not (x64) :thumbs:

gah my bad sorry i didint see my mistake :o