PDA

View Full Version : Building a PC - your input needed!



WarNox
05-11-2008, 05:30 PM
Hey,

I am going to build a computer and have come up with the approximate configuration below, please tell me what you think and of any improvements etc. you think might be worth it!

cpu: Intel q9550
motherboard: Asustek P5E, Intel X38 DDR2 ATX
gpu: ATI Radeon HD - 4850 or 4870 (really not sure)
memory: 4gb DDR2-1066
hdd: Seagate 640GB SATA 7200rpm
psu: 650W Corsair
case: Anything for about $150

For the cpu I've pretty much decided, not wanting to go dual core or i7 so this seems appropriate :)

Motherboard is my main concern. I've decided to go for the x38 chip for its 2x PCIe x16 when I decide to use crossfirex one day but really not sure on this. The gigabyte (ga-ex38-ds4) is another contender. I would like an eSata connection on the motherboard but all of those ones are quite a bit more expensive. Nevertheless please let me know your thoughts on whatever motherboard and why!!!

Thanks,



Gregor

Speedy Gonzales
05-11-2008, 05:33 PM
Get a case with a ESATA connection on it. Some do have it on them

wainuitech
05-11-2008, 05:55 PM
What ever OS you decide on, Assuming its windows of some flavor - with 4Gb of RAM you will need a 64Bit edition - 32Bit only will see 3Gb

qazwsxokmijn
05-11-2008, 06:04 PM
Looks good. Go for 4870. See if you can afford a full tower case for $150.

pctek
05-11-2008, 06:35 PM
cpu: Intel q9550
motherboard: Asustek P5E, Intel X38 DDR2 ATX
gpu: ATI Radeon HD - 4850 or 4870 (really not sure)
memory: 4gb DDR2-1066
hdd: Seagate 640GB SATA 7200rpm
psu: 650W Corsair


Motherboard is my main concern. The gigabyte (ga-ex38-ds4) is another contender.



Excellent choices.
Even if you get the Gigabyte instead.

You know I put the 4850 in my budget gaming PC systems currently and I was rather pleased to see it did extremely well on 3DMark even paired with an AMD.

So ether car will be fine.

WarNox
05-11-2008, 07:20 PM
hmm I thought vista used more than 4gb and xp was limited to 3.5gb!? I'll research that.

I've seen a few atx cases for around 150, don't need anything fancy as far as I know as long as it can fit a decent amount of fans!

So you do recommend the p5e over the gigabyte? I've read multiple reviews on them and not much separates the two cards. The p5e comes with two ide connections and an included sound card.

As for the gpu I'll get the 4870 if budget allows :) but yeah I think the 4850 will be sufficient too. Not sure on the whole 1gb v 512mb yet.

Speedy Gonzales
05-11-2008, 07:27 PM
If its 32 bit, and any version of Windows, (or linux) it wont see, or use more than 4 GB.

You need 64 bit windows. (ie: XP Pro x64 will see more than 4 GB).

WarNox
05-11-2008, 08:39 PM
Yeah thats right, I got a bit confused.

Can I assume all the above hardware will work on say 64-bit Vista? and older games/applications will work on 64-bit just fine?



Gregor

Speedy Gonzales
05-11-2008, 08:46 PM
Yup the hardware should be fine. Just make sure you install 64 bit drivers.

Otherwise, whatever wont work. Since 64 bit windows wont work with 32 bit drivers

Games may work, programs may work, depending on how old it is

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 08:57 PM
Hey,

I am going to build a computer and have come up with the approximate configuration below, please tell me what you think and of any improvements etc. you think might be worth it!

cpu: Intel q9550
motherboard: Asustek P5E, Intel X38 DDR2 ATX
gpu: ATI Radeon HD - 4850 or 4870 (really not sure)
memory: 4gb DDR2-1066
hdd: Seagate 640GB SATA 7200rpm
psu: 650W Corsair
case: Anything for about $150

For the cpu I've pretty much decided, not wanting to go dual core or i7 so this seems appropriate :)

Motherboard is my main concern. I've decided to go for the x38 chip for its 2x PCIe x16 when I decide to use crossfirex one day but really not sure on this. The gigabyte (ga-ex38-ds4) is another contender. I would like an eSata connection on the motherboard but all of those ones are quite a bit more expensive. Nevertheless please let me know your thoughts on whatever motherboard and why!!!

Thanks,



Gregor

I'm not so sure now.....if the pricespy $ on the i7-920 is indeed only $100 more than the Q9550, I would be tempted to go Nehalem platform. It wont matter if you want SLI or CF then....DDR3 will become main stream next year. 3Gb Tri-channel and stay 32bit.

WarNox
05-11-2008, 09:16 PM
I've been over that whole i7 scenario but there is only 1 motherboard for it (intel something rather) and its just over $500 if i remember correctly. So overall thats $400 more for just cpu/mobo and not including ddr3 ram.

But you think its worth getting a motherboard with ddr3 instead of ddr2?



Gregor

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 09:58 PM
If you arent going i7, stay with DDR2...I was just thinking an i7 Quad core w\ 8 logical cores would see you sorted for quite a considerable time processor wise, and to be able to swap combo graphic cards during that period would be a great option.

While there is only one board available as of today, there will be more when the cpu is release EOM. The 1st boards are always a premium.
However, if I was spending 2K, i would balk at the extra $400 for a platform that could last 4 yrs.....It will take some tough software to pin a 8 core cpu......

WarNox
05-11-2008, 10:30 PM
Well 4 cores, 8 with hyper threading.

This is my way of thinking:

Get a decent cpu and a ddr3 motherboard with say 4870 gpu, which will be more than sufficient for now/next year or 2.

The ddr3 ram I get will be transferable to an i7 machine if/when I upgrade as will everything but the cpu and motherboard obviously.

Because it will be at least a few months until more i7 motherboards are released and prices won't drop anytime soon.

WarNox
05-11-2008, 10:32 PM
Why you say to stay ddr2 if I'm not getting i7?

Thebananamonkey
05-11-2008, 11:11 PM
Why you say to stay ddr2 if I'm not getting i7?

Look for articles comparing DDR2/3 performance. Typically there's not all that much, especially for the money you're paying.

i7 may utilize it better with it's inbuilt memory controller, but C2D's don't justify it.

Basically save yourself the $$$. You'll be able to buy better RAM in a year or two anyway, don't count on being able to reuse it.

WarNox
05-11-2008, 11:45 PM
Yeah that makes sense. Its rather deceiving, looking on price spy at ddr3 ram and it doesn't appear that expensive at first, 2GB for $125.96. But then on closer look you see that its cl9...

Ok so looks like I'll go with my original configuration, which I'm sure will be able to handle itself for the next year or two!

Thanks for all the input!!!

Thebananamonkey
06-11-2008, 08:40 AM
DDR3 does tend to be higher latency anyway. But it clocks far, far higher.

If you feel you can afford it, then go nuts, maybe it's starting to become affordable now. As long as you can find an OK priced board that does DDR3.

WarNox
06-11-2008, 08:49 AM
Oh I have found a board that does DDR3 and its also got an eSata port, its only about $20 more than the ones specified above. Its the Asus P5E3.

But I'm really not sure :)

SolMiester
06-11-2008, 08:52 AM
Well 4 cores, 8 with hyper threading.

This is my way of thinking:

Get a decent cpu and a ddr3 motherboard with say 4870 gpu, which will be more than sufficient for now/next year or 2.

The ddr3 ram I get will be transferable to an i7 machine if/when I upgrade as will everything but the cpu and motherboard obviously.

Because it will be at least a few months until more i7 motherboards are released and prices won't drop anytime soon.

But, buy your logic, you are wasting money on a $550 cpu and $300 motherboard only to replace them at a later date?

As I said, extra $!00 for the CPU, w\ mobo out end of month?...

WarNox
06-11-2008, 09:19 AM
Yeah i don't mind spending $100 extra on the cpu but then the price of an lga1366 motherboard and ddr3 ram will make the whole thing a lot more expensive!

I think I'll get a decent system with lga775 for now and in 2 years or so upgrade to lga1366.

Thebananamonkey
06-11-2008, 10:35 AM
Or whatever is the standard at the time.

I think we're due for a "tick" next year... if that makes sense to anyone. And they're bringing out more affordable chips in 2009 some time.

Anyway, looks like you've got it sorted.

WarNox
06-11-2008, 11:02 AM
Yeah I think I am happy with what I've come up with!

Just have to decide if its worth getting 64-bit windows and risk half the apps/games not working :s

Thanks for the help everyone!



Gregor

stormdragon
06-11-2008, 11:04 AM
As already stated here (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=94621) most of you apps and games will work, just make sure you can get drivers for all your hardware including peripherals.

WarNox
06-11-2008, 11:16 AM
Yeah I saw that after my post heh

Yep, I will check that drivers exist before I purchase!



Gregor