PDA

View Full Version : CPU Temperature Error...



ronyville
05-11-2008, 11:29 AM
Hi people, I just put together a new pc, heres the specs

Asus P5KPL-CM Intel G31
4GB DDR800 PC2-6400
Intel Core2 Duo Processor E8400 3.0GHz
Pioneer 20X DVD RW Sata
Palit 9600GT 512MB PCIE
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB SATA2
Acbel iPower 500watts

when i boot up the pc it shows me on the POST screen CPU Temperature Error, so i went into the BIOS and found the temperature is around a 100 degrees celcius.. :eek: , motherboard temperature is around 28 degrees celcius. There is thermal paste between the heat sink and cpu and the cpu fan is spinning fine, just wondering if i have missed something.

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
05-11-2008, 11:35 AM
Use a program like PC Wizard, or Everest Home. And see what temps they show

And reset the BIOS / configure the BIOS, if you havent yet

Thebananamonkey
05-11-2008, 12:00 PM
I'm suspicious, but what heatsink are you using?

Is the 8400 @ 3.0Ghz at stock? Or is that OC?

ronyville
05-11-2008, 12:13 PM
Use a program like PC Wizard, or Everest Home. And see what temps they show

And reset the BIOS / configure the BIOS, if you havent yet

Hi speedy, OS is not installed yet, so i guess i will have to install the OS in order to use PC Wizard.



I'm suspicious, but what heatsink are you using?

Is the 8400 @ 3.0Ghz at stock? Or is that OC?

Its not Overclocked..

Its quite funny cos the cpu shows 100 degrees celcius when i go into bios straight after bootup.. it shouldnt get that hot that fast..:confused:

thanks for your replies guys..

Thebananamonkey
05-11-2008, 12:21 PM
I'd suspect a broken temp sensor on the chip. You won't be taxing it enough to heat it up to that if you don't have an OS on it, so it has to be an error. That's my thought anyway.

Install the OS and see how it goes.

wratterus
05-11-2008, 12:28 PM
I'd suspect a broken temp sensor on the chip. You won't be taxing it enough to heat it up to that if you don't have an OS on it, so it has to be an error. That's my thought anyway.

Install the OS and see how it goes.

x2

Try a BIOS update (if there is one) otherwise you should proabably get that board replaced, as it would be faulty.

ronyville
05-11-2008, 12:51 PM
Thanks guys, will install the OS and run PC Wizard and see what it tells me.

Also the graphics card is a little load with the fan spinning... just wondering if its supposed to be like that.. ???

ronyville
05-11-2008, 01:57 PM
Heres the pic (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/cpu_temp.JPG) of the temperature settings that i got from PC Wizard

Thebananamonkey
05-11-2008, 02:04 PM
I'd suggest you RMA the board if it's new.

If it's not new and you can't then I wouldn't worry about it. If you're not thinking about OCing then you'll be fine. Temps shouldn't worry you too much unless you're getting error messages.

If you can get a new board though, go for it.

ronyville
05-11-2008, 02:05 PM
I'd suggest you RMA the board if it's new.



RMA???? The board is brand new, bought it yesterday.

Speedy Gonzales
05-11-2008, 02:06 PM
Either RMA it, or check the CPU thats it on properly etc.

ronyville
05-11-2008, 06:06 PM
Temperature issue has been sorted by performing a BIOS update :thumbs:

Thanks for all your help people.