PDA

View Full Version : Technical advice needed



JJJJJ
05-11-2008, 08:33 AM
Over the past few weeks I have been having trouble with lockups. Usualy the picture remains on screen but keyboad does nothing and mouse pointer disappears. I push button reboot is my only option
This is becomming more prevelant over the past few days and I have started getting blue screens. The message on the BSOD this morning said
"Driver_IRQL_notless_or_equal"

I am also having a problem with booting
The computer does the POST, the loading windows logo appears and then it just locks up and black screen appears. In semi darkness I can see still faintly see the logo. A push button reboot usualy fixes it

Mainboard : Asus STRIKER II EXTREME
Chipset : nVidia nForce 790i Ultra SLi SPP
Processor : Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 @ 3000 MHz
Physical Memory : 4096 MB (4 x 1024 DDR3-SDRAM )
Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GX2
Hard Disk : WDC (300 GB)
DVD-Rom Drive : PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-212 SCSI CdRom Device
Monitor Type : ViewSonic VX924 - 19 inches
Monitor Type : ViewSonic VX2235wm-5 - 22 inches
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 3
DirectX : Version 9.0c (July 2008)

For no valid reason I suspect video card .

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Q man
05-11-2008, 08:36 AM
Sounds like a possible vidoe card to me if you read the same threads that I read.

Got another to test it with?

Nice Rig!!!

pctek
05-11-2008, 09:01 AM
Driver problem.

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 09:16 AM
I suspect the RAM.....you could try giving it a little more juice from the BIOS....With all 4 slots filled you are putting considerably more stress on the North Bridge MCH than with say 2 x 2GB...giving the RAM and\or the MCH a little more juice may help.

It could also be driver issues as PCT suggests?, do you have driver updates running as well as Windows?...You dont state what PSU you have either....

JJJJJ
05-11-2008, 09:30 AM
Power supply is a 1200W. I forget the brand, but it is a good one.

All drivers are latest ones

Could the fact that I am running two monitors of different sizes off 1 video card have anything to do with the problem? My Vid card has two DVI outlets.

I do not have another vid card to try out.

At the time I bought the ram there were no 2 gig sticks available for DDR3

CYaBro
05-11-2008, 09:31 AM
You're not overclocking anything are you?
If so put everything back to defaults and see what happens.

I would start by removing a couple of the RAM modules and testing from there too.

JJJJJ
05-11-2008, 09:31 AM
Driver problem.

But which driver?

CYaBro
05-11-2008, 09:34 AM
Have you tried booting in Safe Mode? Or VGA mode?

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 09:35 AM
What memory is it?

CYaBro
05-11-2008, 09:37 AM
What memory is it?

Here:


Physical Memory : 4096 MB (4 x 1024 DDR3-SDRAM )

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 09:45 AM
errrr yeah, what though, corsair, gskill.....want to look at voltages....if on auto, might not have the correct voltage, also NB could be increase with 4 slots full if on auto

CYaBro
05-11-2008, 09:46 AM
errrr yeah, what though, corsair, gskill.....want to look at voltages....if on auto, might not have the correct voltage, also NB could be increase with 4 slots full if on auto

Ah.. sorry. Didn't think you would have missed that but had to make sure :o

JJJJJ
05-11-2008, 09:50 AM
What memory is it?

4 x ! gig Gskill DDR3 1600

memtest find nothing wrong with them. two hour test

Everything in bios currently set to default

Just had another blue screen while writing this post

SolMiester
05-11-2008, 10:20 AM
BSOD is 99% always either driver API issues or RAM. Memtest is a good start....I still wonder if the MCH needs a tickle with the 4 slots full....