PDA

View Full Version : Anyone got a manual or know about DSE XH7914 (4-Port PCI Hub)??



Agent_24
29-10-2008, 11:18 PM
Got a DSE XH7914.

It's a 4-Port hub built into a PCI card. I think it can be used normally (not just as a switch, but as a NIC too) but I don't know how, and it's not working (currently using Ubuntu 8.04 live, no OS installed)

I've tried DHCP, and Manual, but it doesn't work. The lights come on but that's it.

Anyone know how these things work?? Or knows where to get the user manual? DSE only has drivers...

zqwerty
30-10-2008, 01:07 AM
Try this:

http://www.dse.co.nz/isroot/dse/support/XH7916_Guide.PDF

Agent_24
30-10-2008, 11:46 AM
That's for a completely different product, the XH7916. Mine is XH7914. The link you gave is for an ADSL Router..

feersumendjinn
30-10-2008, 08:35 PM
Are there any numbers or FCC identifiers on the card, try looking them up in Google as chances are, Dick Smith didn't manufacture it ;) (did this the other day for a DSE 5.1 sound card, found it was the same driver/manual as a Taiwanese generic card I had already (ST-Lab/C-Media 8738 chipset)).
Check the FCC ID thru here
http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/page/fcc

beama
30-10-2008, 10:16 PM
try here
this guy seems convinced he found it and its linux mail list as well (got to be true in that case :lol:)

http://lists.samba.org/archive/linux/2002-May/003258.html

Agent_24
31-10-2008, 01:49 AM
try here
this guy seems convinced he found it and its linux mail list as well (got to be true in that case :lol:)

http://lists.samba.org/archive/linux/2002-May/003258.html

Well the 2nd link is out of date and the first one links to a datasheet which shows a photo of a product that while is a 4-port PCI hub, it is definitely not the same as the DSE one.

So unless DSE changed hardware halfway along (not entirely impossible) I doubt that's the same one

*Just to add:

Put it back in the PC and it refused to POST. Took it out again and noticed something stuck over some of the contacts - removed that, cleaned the lot and put it back in. Now it POSTs and actually works. Interesting to note it also has an IRQ of 10 instead of NA in the PCI device listing. Looks like the dirty contacts were the problem...

beama
31-10-2008, 06:28 AM
yea I followed those links also but I thought It may have been of some help. I glad you got it working