PDA

View Full Version : Questions about RAM =)



CaptainVincent
29-10-2008, 05:36 PM
Hey everyone.

I currently have 1.25GB of DDR2 533Mhz Ram (1x1gb, 1x256mb). Just bought another 1GB stick so I can start gaming.

Would it be better if I took out the 256mb stick and run the 2x 1gb sticks in dual channel, or would it be better if I just stuck in the 1gb stick and had a total of 2.25GB.

Also thinking about 'upgrading' to vista so I can make use of DirectX10.

Here are my specs if it helps.

ASUS 8800GS 384MB TOP Edition
XP 64-BIT
AMD X2 3800+ (AM2 Boost seems to slightly OC it)

Thanks =)

Jen
29-10-2008, 05:44 PM
How many slots does your motherboard have for memory?

CaptainVincent
29-10-2008, 05:49 PM
Four =).

gary67
29-10-2008, 07:59 PM
I would out the two 1gb in matching slots and put the 256 in another slot

pctek
29-10-2008, 08:21 PM
I currently have 1.25GB of DDR2 533Mhz Ram (1x1gb, 1x256mb). Just bought another 1GB stick so I can start gaming.

Would it be better if I took out the 256mb stick and run the 2x 1gb sticks in dual channel, or would it be better if I just stuck in the 1gb stick and had a total of 2.25GB.

Also thinking about 'upgrading' to vista so I can make use of DirectX10.


It all depends on your motherboard. Some won't support 3 modules. Look it up and see.
I wouldn't worry too much about DX10 with the hardware you currently have.

CaptainVincent
30-10-2008, 12:43 PM
It all depends on your motherboard. Some won't support 3 modules. Look it up and see.
I wouldn't worry too much about DX10 with the hardware you currently have.

If my motherboard were to support 3 modules, What would be better?

2gb dual channel

or 2.25gb non dual channel? Thanks

SolMiester
30-10-2008, 12:54 PM
Waste of time worrying about the 256mb if you ask me...are you running 64bt XP?

Oh, and forget DX10 gaming on the 88GS, not that there are many games with true DX10, but what there is wouldnt give playable rates on your card....

CaptainVincent
30-10-2008, 04:00 PM
Yup XP 64-bit.

Wouldn't count me out for a bit of DX10 games just yet, obviously won't be playing them on the highest settings though. My 8800GS TOP is around the same performance as my 8800GTS 320mb. Assassins Creed does runs faster in DX10 than 9 though =).

Does anyone know if I would see a decrease or increase in performance leaving the 256mb in there? Thanks =)

Thebananamonkey
30-10-2008, 04:24 PM
I'd be happy with what you've got if I were you.

Most of the time when I have the option, I turn DX10 off. You're probably better off in XP anyway, with a slightly older PC.

If you want to upgrade, do it with hardware not your OS, or wait for Windows7. Seriously.

Dual channel would probably be best.

SolMiester
30-10-2008, 05:09 PM
2Gb D\C mem would be better than 2.25gb S\C.